DIY Lightbox

So since I don’t have fancy camera equipment, I thought I would attempt to make a lightbox. I’m actually really pleased with the results considering I made it in a really short amount of time (although I had to stop in the middle and finish it another day, which is why the lighting is all different in the pics) and the fact that I usually suck at DIY.

I followed this tutorial, which was really easy. I used a box I’d kept from my recent move, scissors, white tissue paper, tape, and white poster board. I took some step-by-step pics but it was basically the same exact thing as the tutorial so I’ll just show you the before and after, because I’m still excited it turned out so well:

From a sad, empty box...

From a sad, empty box…

...to a cute, if slightly wonky, mini studio!

…to a cute, if slightly wonky, mini studio!

Those lamps are supposed to clip onto the side of a desk but my desk is from IKEA and I don’t trust the particleboard not to get messed up so I kept the lamps balanced in the little boxes they came in.

I need to experiment with lighting so these shots might not be that great, but I took a few pics of my current mani to try out my new creation. I decided to do something fun with crackle polishes since I haven’t used those in forever, and that is the point of this blog after all!

China Glaze's Aquadelic with Broken Hearted crackle polish sponged on top.

China Glaze’s Aquadelic with Broken Hearted crackle polish sponged on top.

08-26-13 Aquadelic+crackle2

CG Hang-Ten Toes with Crushed Candy sponged on top.

CG Hang-Ten Toes with Crushed Candy sponged on top.

08-26-13 Hang Ten Toes+crackle2

Little polish soldiers.

Little polish soldiers.

I gotta work on my hand poses! I decided to randomly sponge the crackles to try something new. I was not a fan at first but it’s really grown on me, plus it’s been on for a few days and there’s barely any tip wear which is always a plus.

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

