Labor Day Neon Fun

It’s been a busy weekend, so my pictures aren’t the best since I had to take them quickly, but I tried something I’ve been wanting to do for a long time – DIY nail stickers. I used this tutorial, with pretty great results! I actually love this manicure, and although it’s a bit of a pain in the ass, I can’t wait to try it again with different colors/designs.

I used a buttload of polishes and supplies for the stickers:

Funky Limelight, Pool Party, Too Yacht to Handle, Def Defying, Surfin' for Boys, Dream On

Funky Limelight, Pool Party, Too Yacht to Handle, Def Defying, Surfin’ for Boys, Dream On

Seche Vite, Wet'n'Wild clear, Skull & Glossbones

Seche Vite, Wet’n’Wild clear, Skull & Glossbones

Plastic sandwich bag (folded in half to fit better in the picture), my adorable mermaid tweezers, tiny scissors, heart-shaped hole punch

Plastic sandwich bag (folded in half to fit better in the picture), my adorable mermaid tweezers, tiny scissors, heart-shaped hole punch

I painted some sections of each color – I figured it would be easier to cut tiny shapes out of smaller sections, which is why I did two smaller swatches of each color. (The lone section of salmon on the end is Butter London’s Trout Pout; I ended up not liking how it looked with the other colors so I didn’t use it.)

09-01-13 swatches

I had to do 4 or 5 coats of Funky Limelight (which is a true yellow neon despite how it showed up in pictures) and it was still streaky as hell but the other colors did well in two or three (Dream On, which was also streaky, and Pool Party) coats. When they were dry I painted Wet’n’Wild’s clear on top of each section and slightly beyond it so I could easily pull up the dried sections later. I thought using the thinner clear polish would be better because it wouldn’t make the stickers too raised up on the nail, but I really should’ve used the Seche Vite because after I left this to dry for a few hours, it was really hard to get the edges to peel. I worked at them with the tweezers, but a few of my sections ripped like this:

09-01-13 peel

It took a while but I eventually got them all off the plastic bag and started to cut shapes into each color with my teeny tiny little scissors (these might be cuticle nippers? I don’t know, it was part of a mini nail kit I’ve had forever).

09-01-13 cut

I forgot to get a pic of the heart shape cutouts because I only remembered that I had the hole punch after I’d taken these prep pictures.

I forgot to get a pic of the heart shape cutouts because I only remembered that I had the hole punch after I’d taken these prep pictures.

As you can see, I had a bit of trouble cutting in a straight line since the scissors are curved, but really the only thing that annoyed me was the bigger triangles, so I’ll use bigger scissors next time. I dabbed a teeny bit of clear on the places I wanted the stickers to go – most of them stuck pretty well on their own for me to figure out placement, but it definitely helped them stay in place before I applied top coat. I put a good, thick layer of Seche Vite on top of each nail and while I feel them raised up a tiny bit, it doesn’t bother me and there’s no sharp edges.

Left hand

I took these outdoor so the neon colors showed better. Left hand!

09-01-13 left hand 2

Right hand - sorry for the busted cuticles! All the moisturizing in the world isn’t helping.

Right hand – sorry for the busted cuticles! All the moisturizer in the world isn’t helping right now.

And sorry for how dry my busted cuticles are! All the moisturizing in the world isn't helping.

Ooh I didn’t do a very good job of painting around my cuticles, either.

I think my favorite designs might be the triple hearts on my right-hand pointer or the fanned out triangles on the pinkie, but I do love all of them, I think this turned out so well! I like all the neons but I would trade out a neon green for Def Defying next time and I’d do a coat or two less on Pool Party so I could get more of the cool see-through/color mixing effect I got when I layered Funky Limelight pieces over the other colors.

I hope everyone’s having a great Labor Day weekend! On Saturday my sister and I went to see John Williams at the Hollywood Bowl and it was awesome. The first half was a tribute to Blake Edwards and Henry Mancini and was narrated by Julie Andrews, who was as lovely and charming as you’d expect. The second half was mostly dedicated to Indiana Jones themes, which were fun, but the best was when they played a bunch of Star Wars scores because the lights dimmed for everyone to bring out their light sabers!

My video wouldn't upload so here's a crappy pic, but hopefully this gives you an idea of how cool it was!

My video wouldn’t upload so here’s a crappy pic, but hopefully this gives you an idea of how cool it was!

Have a fun and safe rest of the weekend!

One thought on “Labor Day Neon Fun

  1. Pingback: Fall Jewel Tones | Fancy Finger Guns

Leave a Reply

