My version of a palate cleanser

I rarely wear the same color on all my fingers so this feels a little weird, but I think it’s good for me. I have so many polishes that sometimes it’s like I’m overstimulated or something. For example, one day I’ll paint my left hand green and my right hand blue. Then that will seem boring so I’ll add some shimmer or glitter, or maybe tape off a section and paint over that. That will seem dull, too, so I’ll take it off only a day or so later and paint each nail of each hand a different color, and then I’ll be over that before the polish dries. I think at this point I have so many colors (plus admittedly, my moods and tastes has been very mercurial lately) that every now and then I need to just calm it down and do a normal manicure, almost like a reset of my polish appetite. Enter…

09-10-13 bottle pic with name

Zoya’s Mimi is from the 2010 Sparkle collection. I also have Gilda, a Barbie hot pink, and have wanted Ivanka, the lovely green, for ages. These polishes all have a heavy shimmer/glass fleck that’s really pretty.

I used flash to show the all the shimmer, but it's not this bright a purple in real life.

I used flash in these two pics to show all the shimmer, it’s not this bright a purple in real life.

Mimi is a true, royal purple with pink/lavender shimmer. You can see that around the edges of the bottle there’s a pretty yellow glow, but it doesn’t show up at all on the nail. The formula is pretty nice, although it can be a bit sheer – a few nails needed a third coat.

Sorry for the slight tip wear, this had been on for a few days.

Sorry for the slight tip wear, this had been on for a few days.

Closeup of shimmery goodness

Hey! My cuticles aren’t a hot mess anymore!

I chose Mimi because purple used to be my favorite color to wear but I haven’t worn a true, saturated purple in…so long I can’t even remember. I think it looks really lovely on my short nails, too. I just can’t seem to let them grow out lately; they start to feel gross and I have to immediately file them down.

So every once in a while I get an idea in my head and can’t seem to let it go. My current obsession is trying to make fancy Jell-O shots. I’ve never really liked them since my – and probably most people’s – experience was limited to gross flavors laced with too much booze in awkwardly tiny cups, but a few months ago I found this site that makes really cool Jell-O shots that are actually real mini cocktails. I totally forgot about it until I was cleaning out my bookmarks the other day. Having never made even shitty, college house party Jell-O shots before, I was curious to see if I could make them look half as nice as the ones from that site (and taste great, obviously).

I got a cheap loaf pan and unflavored gelatin, and tried to create my own recipe using stuff I already had: Sparkling Ice black raspberry juice, lemonade, vodka, Chambord (raspberry liquor). The unflavored gelatin I got was marketed as “make your own flavor” – you use a juice of your choosing to make whatever flavor you want. I decided to make my little shots layered, so first I did a layer using raspberry juice and Chambord, poured it into my loaf pan, and let it set in the fridge for about two hours. Then I mixed the other packet using lemonade and vodka, then s-l-o-w-l-y poured it over the raspberry because I didn’t want a cascade of the lemonade mixture to rupture the bottom layer or something.

I wanted to get this post up tonight so the top layer has only been in the fridge for two hours, which is why I could only get out a sad little chunk instead of a nice, perfect square like in the Jelly Shot Kitchen pics.

Sad mess, but see how nicely the layers turned out?

Kind of a mess, but see how nicely the layers turned out?

I gotta say, it tastes pretty good, too! The recipe on the box called for 1.5 cups of juice, so I used 1/2 cup of booze and the other cup juice, and I think it was the perfect amount of alcohol – you can slightly taste it but it’s not overpowering in the least. I think I could even have added a little bit more booze and it would’ve been fine. I’ll try cutting these tomorrow after it’s been in the fridge all night, but on the tasting front it’s a success!

I hope you enjoyed this post! I’m going to go look through cocktail recipes for something that seems like it would be good in Jell-O, and the next post will probably be my birthday nails. See you then!

Leave a Reply

