Birthday Nails!

Somehow half the photos I took for this post got deleted, but I only noticed when I went back to upload them and had already repainted my nails, so my nail pics aren’t great :/ But anyway, this is the combination I wore on my birthday a few days ago!

09-19-13 bottles

I had a few ideas of what to do on my nails for my birthday, but the day of I got OPI’s I Snow You Love Me and Color Club’s East Austin as a birthday present for myself at my favorite beauty supply store and they seemed like a fun choice. I originally went in looking for China Glaze’s Son of a Peach but they were out, so I settled for East Austin. It’s hard to capture accurately in photos, but I consider East Austin a neon pastel peach, whereas from swatches I’ve seen Son of a Peach looks to me like a fluro version of Peachy Keen, which itself is pretty orange. (Peach is one of those colors that’s a different hue to everyone – for me it’s more like these first four images that pop up, and Peachy Keen is more like the fifth one, more genuinely orange than pinky-peach.) I really like the color, although the formula is what you’d expect from a pastel, super streaky and annoying, so I had to do three coats. This manicure was pretty time-consuming because in addition to the three coats of East Austin, I painstakingly placed each of the glitters from I Snow You Love Me with the help of an orange stick.

I love square glitter, but honestly am not a huge fan of the circle glitter I’ve seen – mostly in indie polishes – but I love me a holo glitter and I Snow You Love Me was only $5 so I grabbed it. ISYLM is a really interesting polish, but I can’t decide if I like it or not. What’s cool about this is that each disc seems to have a fractured effect, so it’s not just one smooth holographic image but rather a bunch of rainbow sections.

Sigh. I love anything holo. The bottle is packed full of glitter, too, and a layer has sunk to the bottom there because they're so heavy.

Sorry for the gross chipped nail closeup! This bottle is packed full of glitter and even though the suspension base is thick, a layer has sunk to the bottom there because they’re so heavy.

09-19-13 blurry macro

I took some pictures of one swipe of polish on a piece of paper I had but most of them were deleted. I like the above blurry photo because 1) it looks like they’re rainbow-y little amoebas in a microscope or something, 2) you can see how there’s different sections of holo on each piece. In the bottle closeup you can see how the weird surface makes the glitter look faceted almost, like those craft sequins, but they’re completely flat. Like I said, interesting, but I can’t decide if I like it or not. I think the refracted holo sections give the impression that they’re just hexes, which is pretty standard for glitter polishes, so it doesn’t come off as unique as circle glitter is (in mainstream polish brands, anyway). Also, after two coats of my usual top coat Seche Vite, it was still kinda bumpy but wasn’t bad enough to really bother me.

Some weird-ass bubble situation happening in my top coat there that I didn't notice before these photos.

Some weird-ass bubble situation happening in my top coat there that I didn’t notice before these photos.

I like the chevrons I did on the left ring better, but the polka-dot effect I was going for is definitely better here, because I did the left hand first and kept adding more dots later.

I like the chevrons I did on the left ring better, but the polka-dot effect I was going for is definitely better here, because I did the left hand first and kept adding more dots later.

Sooo much tip wear in this pic, but it's the most color-accurate image I have of East Austin.

East Austin looks too pink and not neon enough in this pic, but it’s not too far off.

That’s Shore Bright was also hard to capture accurately, but it looks pretty correct here. My bottle seems darker than swatches I’ve seen online, but I still like the color a lot. I was taking pics and realized that TSB might be close color-wise to Lavendairy from Lime Crime so I did a little comparison:

1

Lavendairy is definitely lighter, but the formulas are similar – they’re both pretty opaque at one coat if you’re careful, and dry sort of matte.

My sister had Color Club’s Twiggie out so I went ahead and compared that one to my only other Lime Crime, Pistachielo.

09-19-13 green compare

Pretty close! The Lime Crime is a little more yellow, but they’re both neon mints(?), which should be an oxymoron but is definitely one of my favorite colors. I love mint but some hues are a little too pale/boring – definitely not the case with neon!

I had a really fun birthday weekend, but the standouts were a block party where I saw Matt & Kim and Major Lazer among other performers and a really awesome dinner with some friends. I even got a polish in my present goodies – Butter London’s Champers (thanks, T!)! I’ll be doing a look with that next time.

Any thoughts on I Snow You Love Me? Do you do a special manicure for your birthday? I hope you enjoyed this post, see you next time! – A x

2 thoughts on “Birthday Nails!

  1. I love this look! I keep seeing the studded nail manicures and they’re a little too strong for my personality. The glitter you used reminds me of those studded nails but the opposite in tone. If I see ISYLM on sale I will probably copy this.

    • They definitely look dimensional despite being completely flat, so I think it’s a great fun alternative! Check beauty supply stores that get polishes in bulk, that’s where I get mine for cheap :)

Leave a Reply

