Champers on Baker Street

09-21-13 bottles

So full disclosure, I have a bit of love/hate relationship with Butter London – they chip pretty quickly on me; the price is ridiculous, especially since it’s less polish than mainstream brands like OPI and China Glaze; and the formulas on a lot of the colors I have leave a lot to be desired, which is inexcusable for the price. But some of the colors are really great and unique, I do love the bottle and brush, and obviously as an Anglophile I appreciate the names (although they do seem to be stretching a bit now – Cotton Buds?). That being said, BL’s metallics are some of my favorites because the formulas are fantastic, which is the case with Champers here.

09-21-13 hand to side

I decided to pair two fancy polishes together – elegant Champers and my iced-out bottle of Baker Street. I got this bad boy a year or so ago when Sephora had a few select colors with this cap for $10, which is only 50 cents more than what a bottle of Nails, Inc. polish costs normally – how could I pass that up? I haven’t worn Baker Street in months, so it was definitely time to revisit!

Awkward claw hand! But look at Baker Street. SO BLUE, Y'ALL.

Awkward claw hand! But look at Baker Street. SO BLUE, Y’ALL. Ooh and sorry for those chips, this is a few days old.

Closeup so you can see that despite sort of looking like crackle polish, this mani is actually really nice and smooth - crackle polishes usually need a few coats of top coat to smooth them out.

Closeup so you can see that despite sort of looking like crackle polish, this mani is actually really nice and smooth – crackle polishes can still have texture even after a few layers of top coat.

This was the fastest mani EVER. Baker Street dried really quickly and it’s almost opaque in one coat (I’ve definitely done one before when I was being really careful) so basically I painted one round of polish and by the time I finished it was ready for a thin second coat. Then I took a tiny piece of tin foil since I didn’t have any Saran Wrap and balled it up, dipped it into a little splotch of Champers I put on some paper, and gently dabbed it on my nails. I’ve never done this kind of manicure before, and I didn’t know if there was a trick to balling it up or if the harsh foil would mess up the base coat, but I think it worked out great! Champers dried quickly, too, and then I did a light coat of Seche and my nails were done in record time. I can’t quite decide what color Champers is – it doesn’t seem pinky/peachy enough to actually be rose gold like the website claims, yet it’s also too light to be copper – but it’s lovely and also perfect for the upcoming holiday season. I tried to get a good macro so you can see that it’s not just a straight metallic, either; there’s the tiniest green and pink shimmer to it. You can sort of see it in the blurred pic below:

It's easier to see in sunlight but you can kind of see the pink/green sparkles here.

It’s easier to catch in sunlight but you can kind of see the pink/green sparkles here.

Okay, can we just talk for a second about how amazeballs my cuticles look?! I’ve been using this Sephora by OPI cuticle cream that was on sale for $4.50 (I actually got two of them) and it’s AWESOME. Nice light smell; you only need a little bit at a time; it’s really hydrating but also exfoliates away excess cuticles, which is great for me because I apparently suck at the usual cuticle-removing products)…the only problem is it’s so cheap because Sephora is discontinuing that line. :( I’m pretty sad it’s being discontinued but let’s be real, I wouldn’t have even tried it at $9 a bottle (let alone $14 #cheapbitch). I should try to grab a few more bottles this weekend. It’s seriously holy-grail status for me. My cuticles are dry as hell so I do have to use it sometimes more than once a day, but it works really well as you can see, so I highly recommend it and if you can still find it in stores, at $4.50 you can’t really go wrong.

Champers was a actually birthday present from a friend – thank you so much, T! I also got a bottle of real champers to go with my polish, so I will probably be breaking into that this weekend…maybe I’ll try out a cocktail with champagne in it, I’m sure I have one somewhere on my boozy Pinterest board.

I hope you enjoyed this post! I wish all of you a lovely glass or three of champers and a fantastic weekend. See you next time! A x

Cinemagraph_Champagne_bubbles

2 thoughts on “Champers on Baker Street

  1. Pingback: Hello Fall! | Fancy Finger Guns
  2. Pingback: WNAC August Nail Art Challenge: Cobalt & Peach | Fancy Finger Guns

Leave a Reply

