First Halloween Mani!

IT’S FINALLY OCTOBER! October is my favorite month by far. I’ve mostly lived places that are very summery year round, and while that might sound great to some of you, for me summer weather = death.

This basically sums up how I feel about constant sunny weather and heat.

This basically sums up how I feel about constant sunny weather and heat.

I get hot so easily and sometimes even get headaches from the heat and it makes me not even want to venture outside and UGH. But in lovely October the weather starts getting cooler (well, in theory) so you can pull out cozy sweater and boots, seasonal treats like “pumpkin spice this” and “peppermint that” come back, and most importantly, HALLOWEEN IS NIGH. Halloween is my absolute favorite holiday and I like to stretch it as long as I can, which means my apartment was decorated yesterday and all this month I’ll be doing fun Halloween-themed nails.

I’m not a huge fan of super literal nail art like Frankenstein’s monster patchwork or stamps of bats and witches’ hats – I don’t hate that stuff, and will on occasion even do them myself, but in general it’s not my jam. I more prefer playing with traditional holiday colors/themes instead of straight images. Also, GLITTER. Soooo much glitter in the coming weeks (actually, for the next few months, because holidays = glitter to me). Get excited! Anyway, to kick off the month I have a skittles mani:

Halloween explosion.

Halloween explosion! Left hand.

Right hand.

Right hand.

I used a shitload of polishes for this mani, as you can see.

The brights: China Glaze I'm with the Lifeguard (neon with silver shimmer although you can't see it here), Milani White on the Spot, CG Orange Marmalade, Sinful Colors Let's Talk (a bit lighter than this but it's hard to get this polish color-accurate!)

The brights: China Glaze I’m with the Lifeguard (neon with silver shimmer although you can’t see it here), Milani White on the Spot, CG Orange Marmalade, Sinful Colors Let’s Talk (a bit lighter than this and definitely less blue but ughhh it’s so hard to get this polish color-accurate!)

The darks: Wet'n'Wild Tangled in My Web (tiny matte black glitter in clear base), W'n'W Black Creme, OPI Black Shatter, Girly Bits Into the Night (tiny holo and pink glitter in a slightly tinted black base), Cirque Debris (multi-sized black and silver glitter with sparkle)

The darks: Wet’n’Wild Tangled in My Web (tiny matte black glitter in clear base), W’n’W Black Creme, OPI Black Shatter, Girly Bits Into the Night (tiny holo and pink glitter in a slightly tinted black base), Cirque Debris (multi-sized black and silver glitter with sparkle)

Finger by finger:

Thumb: Wet’n’Wild Black Creme + Sephora by OPI Traffic Stopper Copper (which I now realize I forgot to include in the bottle photo ahhh!). I liked pairing copper instead of a true orange with black, it’s still Halloween-y but more chic or something. This is one coat of Black Creme and one coat of TSC, believe it or not.

Index: China Glaze I’m With the Lifeguard + Cirque Debris, Wet’n’Wild Tangled in My Web. First on my left hand I used Debris, a chunkier glitter, but thought it was too similar to the size of TSC on my thumb, so on my right hand I used Tangled and I think the tiny black glitter is a better contrast.

Middle: Sinful Colors Let’s Talk + W’n’W Black Creme, Girly Bits’ Into the Night. Let’s Talk is almost impossible to photograph correctly – it’s a true, royal purple, and if you don’t own it you need it because it’s beautiful. I’ve never done the drippy style before, but I think it looks pretty good for being my first try! I added Into the Night on top of the black drips on my left hand but thought that made it harder to see so I left it off my right hand (I really should’ve used another color but I liked making black the color that tied all the nails together).

Ring: Oh man, I LOVE the striped ring finger, despite how long it took to do. I used tweezers to painstakingly place five or six striping tape pieces on my nails. I had to re-do each placement a few times to get it perfect, because I wanted all the stripes to be the same width as the striping tape and even though I was just eyeballing it I think it came out really great! It reminds me of Jack Skellingston’s suit.

Pinkie: CG Orange Marmalade + OPI Black Shatter. I put some tape at a diagonal and globbed on my poor, semi-dried-out Black Shatter. It’s gotten so gross and didn’t even crackle that well. I remember when this polish first came out there were a lot of issues with it drying out quickly, and I guess I have had mine for a few years now. :(

A lot of work but I really love this mani! A fun way to kickoff the Halloween countdown.
10-02-13 pumpkin 4

I decided that I was going to list a favorite Halloween/horror movie of mine with each manicure. This is not a list of “best Halloween movies” or anything, just some of my personal faves. First up is a movie that I already included a gif of that’s beloved by everyone who was a child in the 90s:

HP boo

Hocus Pocus, y’all! If I did have to choose one halloween movie, it would be this one by a mile. Maybe I only think this because I grew up with it, but Hocus Pocus is a rare PG (?) movie that can actually be enjoyed as an adult, too. The story is fun, the setting of Salem is perfect (and lovely in all its autumn glory), and every single character is enjoyable and well-acted, even the kids and the minor characters (it’s especially fun to see a pre-Sex and the City Sarah Jessica Parker be absolutely ridiculous).

HP eat

It’s still funny even though I’ve seen it a million times since I was a kid. I can quote the whole movie (sometimes I just text my sister “Max. Fat chance.”) but that doesn’t stop me from enjoying the shit out of this movie every time I see it. It’s really just a classic, and if you’ve never seen it, you should definitely check it out on one of ABC Family or the Disney Channel’s inevitable airings, if only for the scene where Bette Midler sings. I’m not exaggerating when I say it’s one of the most amazing things in this world.

HP scream

Do you get excited for fall (or in my case, “fall”) too? Do you love Halloween or Hocus Pocus as much as I do? What did you think of this mani?

I hope you enjoyed this post! See you next time! A x

Leave a Reply

