A Bewitching Combo

Simple manicure today. Still glittery though, of course – I have too many Halloween-themed glitters and the month is speeding by, I need to cram them all in!

image

The glitter is one of my favorite Crows Toes, VooDoo:

Halloween perfection: orange bars and medium hexes; deep purple shards, hexes, and lighter purple squares; and micro glitter pieces in orange, purple and green.

Halloween perfection: orange bars and medium hexes; deep purple shards, hexes, and lighter purple squares; and micro glitter pieces in orange, purple and green.

This came out for the Crows Toes Halloween collection last year. I own this one, Frogs’ Breath, and Last Call at the CrowBar, and I still lust after Tangled Web (it’s almost identical to the blue/black glitter from last year’s China Glaze Bitz ‘n Pieces collection, but the blue glitter in Tangled Web is holographic). Ugh last year was SO GREAT for Halloween collections from my favorite indie companies – both Crows Toes and I Love Nail Polish had amazing collections and I’m sad they didn’t do any new ones this year! (Although honestly, I have way more Halloween polishes than I can handle already since a lot of them just scream Halloween to me so I never want to wear them any other time of year since they feel out of place.)

You can see by the clumping at the neck how loaded with glittahhhh this puppy is.

You can see by the clumping at the neck how loaded with glittahhhh this puppy is.

I’ve worn this a few times, but only over black or dark purple. I wanted to try something new, but it’s difficult to pick a color that complements VooDoo well since it has orange, purple, and green glitter pieces, and I didn’t want any of the glitter to disappear over a similar base color.

I brightened this a little so it's easier to see the glitter on the dark green.

I thought green would show off the orange and purple well, and depending on the hue would also keep the tiny green glitter visible. I liked it with China Glaze’s Def Defying, a delicious acid green (although it’s hard to get a color-accurate pic, it’s definitely not neon looking in real life), and Finger Paints’ Scenery Greenery, a classy (one coater!) hunter. I couldn’t decide which look I wanted to go for more, since Def Defying made VooDoo fun, over-the-top Halloween, and Scenery Greenery made it more darkly elegant. I’m the least decisive human on earth, so I did just did both! 

[caption id="attachment_423" align="alignnone" width="800"]Left hand. It was so hard to get a good photo, but in real life the glitter stood out much more against the dark green. Left hand. It was so hard to get a good photo, but in real life the glitter stood out much more against the dark green.

Right hand.

Right hand. Sorry, I have a little burn mark on my middle finger :(

Like all my Crows Toes, this is a jam-packed glitter, so it takes a bit of manuvering to get it fairly evenly distributed on each nail. I did quite a heavy amount of glitter on Def Defying (right hand) and used a lighter touch on Scenery Greenery (left hand), and I think I like that way better. Either way, VooDoo is pure Halloween magic. I looooove this brand, the creator makes the coolest, often unusual color/glitter combos and they always look amazeballs.

I even painted my nails on theme, while watching American Horror Story: Coven. I have a very love/hate relationship with Ryan Murphy (great ideas and hilarious one-liners/can’t write good character or plot development to save his life) but I like that there’s this weird, fucked up, completely crazy pants TV show. In this iteration I’m ready to be delighted all season long with Emma Roberts’ bitchy teen movie star.

Coven gif

I admit, I like witchy shows/books/movies, which leads me to the next pick on my list of favorite Halloween-y movies – The Craft.

"We ARE the weirdos, mister."

“We ARE the weirdos, mister.”

I had no idea every ’90s kid didn’t know this movie. Last year a movie theater downtown played a double feature of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and The Craft – which may be one of the greatest movie pairings of all time – and I was the only one of my group of 5 who had seen both these movies (like, a million times – I [and half the audience] shouted “I bind you Nancy, from doing harm…!” along with the movie). I begrudgingly gave the guys a pass because I can’t imagine a preteen dude wanting to see these “girl” movies, but FOR SHAME, FEMALE FRIENDS.

Devil

I don’t think The Craft is objectively good, but I grew up with it and as a horror-loving kid I always liked it. It’s is a super weird story that would never be made today because they apparently don’t make teen movies anymore (!), no studio likes to make a movie with an all-female cast unless it’s a bawdy comedy, and the only supernatural movies that are being made now consist of cheesy plots and “epic true love” type stuff.

They do play slumber party games, though!

They do play slumber party games, though!

The main characters in this movie don’t look like they walked off a CW set and there’s certainly no love story – in fact, all the dudes in this film are portrayed as huge assholes (although there is a love spell gone horribly awry). There’s actually a lot of intense themes like suicide, rape, racism, addiction, and the darker elements of some high school experiences in general. Despite the fact that it’s about magic, the characters are trying to figure out how to get what they want in a way that is realistic of teenagers, like Neve Campbell’s disfigured character who wants to be beautiful, and Nancy the misunderstood goth kid with an abusive home life who wants to be powerful.

Nancy

Wow, I bet that’s more than has ever been written about The Craft. As a kid I just really liked this movie because it dealt with the supernatural in a dark, weird, and moody, and I was a kid who loved horror and creepy things, Damn, when I think about ’90s movies – teen movies in particular – they really don’t make ’em like they used to.

Please tell me some of you have seen/love The Craft? Any thoughts on my mani?

Thanks for reading! See you next time – A x

One thought on “A Bewitching Combo

Leave a Reply

