Hello, Fall!

I really enjoyed the structure of the last month of posts, keeping my manicures within one theme. It gave me enough freedom to do a lot of different styles and combos, but keeping myself within a certain range of polishes made it a lot easier for me to actually choose what I was going to do. I’ve mentioned early on in my blog that sometimes I get weirdly overwhelmed by how many polishes I have and agonize over a decision (which I know is silly – if I don’t like it, I can just take it off the next day, it’s nail polish, but this is how my brain works), which is why narrowing the playing field was great. So! I’m going to do that again this month, with a simple theme: fall.

11-03-13 fall collage3

Generally I don’t follow any color rules regarding the seasons because a) I’m from Florida, where seasons don’t exist, b) if I want to wear neon green in January, I’mma do it. I’ve also never really liked the sort of colors associated with fall fashion – taupes and neutrals, nearly black reds and purples, copper, browns, etc. A year ago I owned one red and one nude (one was free, one was for nail art), but in the past year I’ve warmed up to so many “classic” nail colors that previously I wouldn’t touch with a ten-foot pole. I still sometimes feel weird wearing them though, so I’m hoping the fall theme for November will make it so I don’t feel like some kind of poseur for wearing more “ladylike” hues. :)

China Glaze 2030, NYC Lexington Square, Butter London Wallis

China Glaze 2030, NYC Lexington Square, Butter London Wallis, a buttload of studs.

Once I’d settled on a theme, I instantly knew I wanted to use Butter London’s Wallis. It’s a gorgeous, rich golden olive, that just screamed “Fall!” to me. I decided to do the Saran Wrap manicure style with some other fall-y colors in different finishes, and mix it up with some gold square studs on a few nails. I laid down a base of Wallis on my thumb, index, and pinky, and NYC’s Lexington Square, a deep, dark burgundy, on my middle and ring fingers. Here’s a photo of just swatches before I did anything else (including cleanup :/) – Lexington Square was definitely red on the first (streaky) coat, but darkened considerably on the second.

Two coats each.

Two coats each. My bottle of Lexington Square is getting goopy, which is why it looks lumpy. Pretty shiny, though.

Of course, once again I had no Saran Wrap, and unfortunately my replacement tool of tinfoil didn’t go as well as the first time I used it. Sigh. I dabbed on some China Glaze 2030, a cool metallic champagne (that is sooo great for stamping), then Wallis, then a tiny bit of Lexington Square. It kind of looks like an army print, right?

11-03-13 hand around bottl

Hmm. Even though it didn’t turn out quite as I wanted, I still think this looks cool, and I love the subtle contrast of the burgundy creme, smooth metallic, and shimmery olive.

Macro!

Macro!

I also really love the olive + gold studs. I did this kind of quickly, otherwise I would’ve tried to bend the edges of the studs a bit around a pen or something I like usually do. They really stuck out on the sides so I just sort of filled in that area with extra top coat (I can still feel the edges, though, so I wouldn’t recommend this if you’re wearing tights!).

11-03-13 fingers up

Unfortunately, after doing this I remembered why I rarely wear my Butter Londons – they chip on me so quick. I hadn’t had this on for 24 hours before I had tip wear and a sizable chip on my pointer, which I then fixed only to turn around and discover three more chips the next day. Ughhh. I hate wearing chipped manicures but I haven’t had time to do my nails so I’ve just been touching them up only to have it chip off again. Cursessssssss! Wallis really is gorgeous, though, so if you have better luck than me with wear time on BLs, I’d suggest grabbing it as it’s a perfectly chic fall hue.

11-03-13 side angle

A few weeks ago the lovely Millie Muppet tagged me with some autumn beauty questions. I’m brand new to blogging so I don’t really have anyone else to tag, but I thought it would be fun to answer the questions anyway. Here goes:

What’s your favorite autumn lipstick? I like to wear bright lip colors year round, but two of my favorites for fall are new, Milani Sangria, a deep magenta that pulls super purple on me, and NYX Chaos, a red that’s a tiny bit darker and a little more orange than I usually wear. I used to be really scared of super bright or dark lipstick, but then I just decided not to care and wear them if I wanted. I still don’t wear them often, but when I do I feel kind of badass.
What’s your favorite autumn trend? Tights/thigh-high socks + boots. I love when it’s finally chilly enough to wear crazy colored tights and ankle boots, or warm thigh-high socks with glittery flats, or plain black tights with some comfy tall boots.
What’s your favorite autumn candle? Fittingly enough, it’s called “Autumn” by Bath & Bodyworks. It somehow smells exactly like leaves, apples, and a crisp autumn day and I’ve already almost burned through one of the huge $20 ones!
Do you have any autumn traditions? I decorate my apartment for Halloween on the first day of October, and I’ll usually have a chai tea a few times (it seems very fall-y to me for some reason).
What’s your favorite thing about autumn? The weather! I love the chilly/crisp air, when it rains (rarely, unfortunately), the overcast days, being able to wear a lot of comfy layers and sip hot beverages without burning up!
What’s your favorite items of clothing for autumn? Boots! Tall boots especially, I just love them and never got to wear them growing up in Florida so I wear them as often as I can here.
Favorite autumn nail polish? Hmmmm well, like my lipsticks, I tend to wear bright colors all year, but in the fall color spectrum, probably China Glaze’s Harvest Moon, a burnt orange foil, or I Love Nail Polish’s Pumpkin Spice Latte, a tiny caramel/gold/bronze colored glitter.
Favorite autumn beverage? Apple cider! And even better, apple cider with a nip of booze to be even more warming and cozy.
Favorite autumn snack? Caramel apples!
Which celebrity inspires you most in autumn? No idea, I’m terrible at following celebrity fashion. Someone who wears a lot of boots!

Thoughts on this manicure? What’s your favorite fall polish?

Thank you for reading! See you next time – A x

Leave a Reply

