Quick & Easy Magic

I have a few polishes I’ve owned for a while but never worn. How it usually goes is: I see a color that’s not normally my jam but in that moment I’m really attracted to it so I buy it, and if I don’t immediately put it on it goes into my polish storage to never be worn. Once in a while I’ll remember it’s there, tell myself I really need to wear it, and then forget about it again. (My brain has a strange way of thinking.) Today’s main polish is one of those poor unworn polishes because it’s definitely outside my wheelhouse:

11-07-13 bottle pic

Midtown Magic was released in the China Glaze Metro Chic collection a few autumns ago. I used to rigorously check my favorite nail blogs for swatches of new collections, and I remember not being too impressed with Metro Chic because to me it had a lot of boring (berries, reds, taupes) or ugly (dull olive, mustard) colors. But I randomly came across a lovely photo of Midtown Magic last year which for some reason really caught my eye (probably because it was so different than anything else I owned). So I eventually got it, only to follow my little habit outlined above and put it away, never to be worn. But when I was thinking of my next fall-inspired manicure, I remembered this little guy and decided to give it a whirl. (Please note: it was insanely hard to get a good photo of this polish, so I used a bunch of different lighting situations besides my usual lightbox which means these photos are gonna be a bit weird.)

My middle finger best captured how this polish really looks - deep brown with shimmer that really comes out when the light hits it.

My middle finger best captured how this polish really looks – deep brown with shimmer that really comes out when the light hits it.

I have a hard time using just one color in a manicure, but I also really liked this color once it was on and didn’t want to do anything too crazy. I thought some gold striping would be a cool touch, and I really like how it came out!

In the car. This is how it looks most of the time...

In the car. This is how it looks most of the time…

 

...and this is how it looks in (weak) sunlight when the shimmer comes out.

…and this is how it looks in (weak) sunlight when the shimmer comes out.

Midtown Magic is a hard color to pin down. China Glaze officially describes it as a deep burgundy but it mostly looks dark brown to me, although in certain lights it looks like it has a tinge of purple to it as well, somehow? (I chose that little box for the bottle pic because I thought it was funny how the box was red, purple, and brown, just like the polish!) It also has red, gold, and green shimmer which definitely gives MM a magical look when it’s in direct sunlight and gets all sparkly. The formula was really great, easy to control and almost opaque in one coat. For my pointer finger accent nail, I painted two coats of OPI’s Glitzerland – a cool-toned, more champagne-y hue that’s my go-to gold because it dries quickly – and a thin coat of Seche Vite, waited an hour or so, put on my striping tape pieces, and painted one thickish coat of MM.

11-07-13 nail macro

See all the red, green, and gold shimmer?

See all the red, green, and gold shimmer?

MM isn’t a polish I would wear a lot, but it’s a perfect fall color choice. The color is unique but subtle, and it’s got a great formula if you’re trying to do your nails in a hurry.

11-07-13 curled around sweater best

The weather here in Southern California is giving me whiplash. It’ll be 82 degrees a few days in a row then dip just enough where I can wear some boots, maaaaaybe some tights at night, and then shoot back up after a day. I want fall weather, dammit! Sigh. Oh well. Here’s a few links I found with some interesting facts about autumn. Wish me some lovely brisk fall weather!

Rainy autumn puddle

I hope you liked this post, have a great day! – A x

Leave a Reply

