Glitter Elegance with Ginger Spice Latte

Are ginger spice lattes a real thing? I’m not sure, but I do know that the hot beverage of the season is the pumpkin spice latte, which I actually don’t like. I know, I’m like the only person evaaaaa who doesn’t, but one of the spices in that legendary concoction is something I just can’t stand. Bleh. I do, however, completely adore I Love Nail Polish’s Ginger Spice Latte polish, which is featured in today’s combo!

P.S. this is a caramel macchiato, a kind of treat for going so long without buying frivolous coffee drinks like this :)

P.S. this is a caramel macchiato, a kind of treat for going so long without buying frivolous coffee drinks like this :)

I’ve had ILNP on this blog before with Candy Apples & Razors, but I didn’t fully gush about it. I love this brand! It’s an indie company (with both a website and an etsy store) but everything about it is so professional and awesome. The bottle feels solid and expensive, is an easy shape for storage, and has a matted rubber cap that is great for gripping. The logo is etched on the front of the bottle, and there’s also a sticker on the bottom with the name of the polish. I really like indies, and part of their charm is that they have handwritten labels and such, but it’s also really impressive when an indie brand puts out a product that’s as well put together as ILNP.

11-11-13 bottle and box!

I got my first ILNP polishes during the Black Friday deal last year and sort of shocked myself by ordering Ginger Spice Latte since that kind of polish (tiny glitter, understated gold/copper color) wasn’t really my jam then, but ever since I got it it’s probably my most-used glitter topper. GSL has good coverage in just one coat and only takes one thickish coat of top coat to smooth everything out, which is pretty rare for glitter. All my INLP polishes have a REALLY strong smell since I got them before the owner changed her formula, but I actually don’t mind much because I kind of like the chemical smell of nail polish.

11-11-13 Curled hand - too dark?

In keeping with my fall theme, I decided GSL’s gorgeous mix of tiny gold and copper glitters would go beautifully with Zoya’s Shawn, a military green (more yellowish green/mossy) that covers well in two coats. This color is a shapeshifter – it’s darker on the nail than in the bottle, and it also appears lighter or darker and more of a yellow/khaki green depending on your lighting, which I’ve shown below in a collage. (It appears almost hunter green in my lightbox photos, but it’s not.)

Clockwise from the top: in very yellow/warm lighting in my apt, (next 3 taken in the car) in weak afternoon light, in very bright 1pm, and in the shade.

Clockwise from the top left: in very yellow/warm lighting in my apt, (next 3 taken in the car) in weak afternoon light, in very bright 1pm light, and in the shade.

It’s the kind of color that was in style a few years ago like all those other weird in-between colors (griege, dirty taupe), and I wasn’t into it then but can appreciate it now. I was originally just going to do a glitter gradient over Shawn but thought I should try something new.

You can see gold micro, square, and hex glitter, plus slightly larger copper hex pieces. Love!

You can see gold micro, square, and hex glitter, plus slightly larger copper hex pieces. Love!

11-11-13 macro - nail

I love this combination! My application of glitter in the curved sections along the side of my nails isn’t the best, but I didn’t really know what I wanted to do and struggled to make them all the same after my first few.

Up -  cloudy
11-11-13 From the side - shade

GSL’s caramel colors look so rich against Shawn. I did one normal coat of GSL and another thin coat, sort of dabbing in a few places to get almost full coverage. I wiped off the excess polish so I had just a little bit to work with for more control for the second coat, but since I had the cap off for so long it started to get a bit goopy and hard to work with, which is why the curves aren’t super clean. I don’t think that’s something the average person would notice, though. I really love this way of adding glitter!

This was taken outside in late afternoon light, and it's a pretty true representation of how this color looks most of the time.

This was taken outside in late afternoon light, and it’s a pretty true representation of how this color looks most of the time.

So I (finally) started watching Friday Night Lights. I have this unintentional habit of not watching shows that multiple people emphatically tell me I’d love, and this one has been on my “to watch” list for years. I guess maybe subconsciously I get annoyed by people constantly telling me to watch them, but once I watch whichever one I do really like it – Veronica Mars was one of those, and oh man I loved that show from the first episode. I’m about 6 episodes into FNL and I don’t “OMG loooooooove” it, but I certainly like it. I’m watching with my sister, who’s a huge fan, so it’s hard to not ask her “who’s that? what’s his deal? do those two stay together? what happens to her?” She also obviously knows a lot more about the characters so I sometimes feel out of the loop.

clear-eyes-full-hearts-cant-lose

I do think it’s pretty good, though, and despite me not having any super strong feelings about any of the characters, the football element really gets me going – even though I know it’s a TV show, and that everything is choreographed, I still get really into the games (“Go Smash! Run it!!!”). I don’t like pro football, only high school/college, because I feel like they’re more exciting since there’s so much riding on each game. I do really love how realistic everything feels, like how much religion plays into most of the characters’ lives in small-town Texas, and dialogue like Coach Taylor and his wife’s conversations feel really natural and real. And while I haven’t gotten a real connection with the characters yet, I do have a few favorites. I like Coach’s daughter, Julie, because I feel like she acts like how I would if I were the teenage daughter of a small-town football coach, and also Tyra, who’s sort of a hustler (I just got to the episode where they throw an anti-homecoming party for $) and just does what she wants. I’m excited to get to super-fan levels of adoration with this show like everyone else I know who watched it.

Any FNL fans? Thoughts on this mani?

Thanks for reading! See you next time – A x

One thought on “Glitter Elegance with Ginger Spice Latte

  1. Pingback: Green Ombre Party! | Fancy Finger Guns

Leave a Reply

