Electrified Gold

I saw China Glaze’s Electrify and thought, what’s more fall than red and gold? Plus, I finally found all my stamping stuff and I’ve wanted to try Butter London’s Knees Up as a stamping polish for a long time (because it’s pretty opaque), so that’s where I came up with today’s combo!

Chinag Glaze Electrify, Butter London Knees Up, OPI Goldfinger

China Glaze Electrify, Butter London Knees Up, OPI Goldfinger

First of all, holy crap, OPI’s Goldfinger is uhmahhhhhhhhzing. I used three coats because my apartment has the worst lighting and sometimes it’s hard for me to see if a polish is really opaque, but my sister also used it and swears it was good in two coats. But the color is gorgeous, bright yellow-gold with what looks like micro flakes or something? There’s also sometimes red and green flecks when the light hits just right, you can sort of see it in the macro but it was hard to catch on camera. (P.S. I’m sorry for my pictures in this post, my nails were chipping and had tip wear, my camera kept freaking out, and I didn’t have time to mess around to get better photos because I’ve been really busy this weekend. Please forgive me!)

11-18-13 curled bottle

Awkward pinkie macro! You can see how it kind of looks like there's little flakes, almost, of gold in there.

Awkward pinkie macro! You can see how it kind of looks like there’s little flakes, almost, of gold in there.

I used to be terrible at stamping (and sometimes I still am) but I discovered nice, big images helped immensely. One of the first brands to come out with nail plates to rival the expensive Konad was Bundle Monster, but their first collection’s image were super small, so you have to place each image juuuuuust right on your nail (and sometimes even then they didn’t fit your whole nail), and as I’ve mentioned before, I’m super impatient, so mine usually turned out shitty. However, since then Bundle Monster has released bigger image sizes, and newer brands like Winstonia (which I bought earlier this year after Nailed It’s review) all have bigger sizes, too, which are great not only for the lazy people like me, but for people with bigger nails.

Hmm, the stamping looks smudged on my middle finger in this picture, but it's not.

Hmm, the stamping looks smudged on my middle finger in this picture, but it’s not.

You can just stamp the image down in an approximate of where your nail is instead of oh-so-carefully lining it up, and it’ll still look nice. Knees Up isn’t the best stamping polish everrrrr because it’s not 100% crisp and opaque, but it’s not too shabby. I am not a red person, as I think I’ve established, but this one caught my eye when it first came out (I think last year?), a bright, metallic true red that reminds me of wrapping paper.

11-18-13 fingers up

I had to really load up the nail plate with polish to get it to stamp well (I did a test on my right hand and it barely left an image) but once I did it turned out pretty well. I’m so glad I found my plates! I moved a few months ago and there’s still a box or two in my closet, and these guys were hanging out in there, of course. I chose the mosaic(?) image because I liked that it had an inverse that I could use for my skittles.

I couldn't resist using those little leaves again! Also, it was really hard to get this at an angle that didn't reflect everything in my room.

I couldn’t resist using those little leaves again! Also, it was really hard to get this at an angle that didn’t reflect everything in my room.

Electrify was a surprise hit for me. Actually, I ended up liking a lot more of China Glaze’s Hunger Games collection two years ago than I originally did. The colors seemed pretty lame at first but they definitely grew on me. I own Smoke and Ashes, Stone Cold, and Harvest Moon in addition to Electrify, which is brilliant red and gold glitter in a clear base. I did two coats of Electrify over one coat of Knees Up on my pointer, and two coats of it over two coats of Goldfinger on my thumb. It’s funny how the tiny empty spaces between glitter pieces lets the base shine through, and the glitter seems more red-heavy on my pointer and more gold-heavy on my thumb because of it.

ARGH I couldn't get my iPhone camera to focus on these nails individually because of the glitter, I guess? Anyway, here's a weird macro to so you can see how the base coat affected the nail as a whole.

ARGH I couldn’t get my iPhone camera to focus on these nails individually because of the glitter, I guess? Anyway, here’s a weird macro to so you can see how the base coat affected the nail as a whole.

I ended up going to a USC tailgate this weekend, so my nails were on theme! It was pretty fun, although I felt guilty semi-supporting a team that’s not mine. (And my team ended up losing that day, which made me feel worse.) I had a pretty busy weekend on the whole, actually, because a friend was in town too, but it was fun. Now I have to focus on figuring out what I’m doing for Thanksgiving! At least I’ve already planned out my nails, though :)

Thoughts on this mani? Do any of y’all have Goldfinger and love it as much as I do? Would you like to see more stamping in the future?

Thanks for reading! See you next time – A x

One thought on “Electrified Gold

  1. Pingback: Sweater Weather | Fancy Finger Guns

Leave a Reply

