Blustery & Blue

I was going to post about my Thanksgiving manicure a few days ago but it turned out like crap, plus it got badly chipped within a day anyway because of all the Thanksgiving dinner prep (my sister and I hosted a few friends which was really fun! But it meant we were peeling and washing and cleaning and doing all sorts of stuff that’s hard on a manicure) so I didn’t want to fix it and devote a whole post to it. In case you’re interested, here’s a pic I managed to take before things got too busy:

I didn't even bother cleaning up my right hand.

I didn’t even bother cleaning up my right hand.

Not the worst thing in the world, but I hated it. I wanted to sponge autumnal colors to look sort of like foliage, and it was going well at first because the gold I used is a foil so it looked really nice and gradient-y, but the red and green were way too opaque to look good sponged, especially since they’re such stronger colors than the gold and orange. Ugh awful. But that’s in the past! Today is the beginning of December, and that means CHRISTMAS NAILS. I don’t get quite as excited for Christmas nails as I do for Halloween nails, but you know I love a theme, so I’ve got a few fun ideas already planned.

12-02-13 bottle shot

For my kickoff manicure I wanted to do something more wintery than red-and-green Christmassy, which is how I ended up with this combo. I’m not sure I’m thrilled with Up To Snow Good/Ski Teal We Drop and Expecto Patronum together in the same manicure, though. I like that the aqua glitter and white base of Expecto Patronum complements the white and aqua glitter in UTSG, but I don’t know if the chunky glitter of UTSG goes well with the more dainty, suspended-in-milky-white glitter of Expecto Patronum. I don’t hate it, though, and altogether this does look very snowy/wintery, so I’m pleased :)

12-02-13 curled cloudy

On my thumb, pointer, and middle fingers I have Up To Snow Good, a fabulous glitter topper (from my old friend I Love Nail Polish’s winter collection last year) made up of matte white, sheer pearlescent, and shiny aqua pieces, and below is only one thickish coat over base color Ski Teal We Drop, so you can see it’s jam-packed with glitter.

White shards, medium and small hexes; small pearly white squares and hexes; shiny aqua squares; and holographic micro glitter.

White shards, medium and small hexes; small pearly white squares and hexes; shiny aqua squares; and holographic micro glitter. The glitter pieces towards the right look super green but it’s just my neon yellow cell phone case reflecting (I have the hardest time taking it offs, so sorry about that!).

I’ve worn UTSG twice before, over a silver foil and a light gray. For some reason I have a hard time coming up with colors I think would look good under UTSG, but I was rifling through my polishes and thought OPI’s Ski Teal We Drop would be a good base since it’s a deep, blue-leaning teal, which would go well with the aqua glitter, but the darker color would ensure that the glitter would stand out. I really like these two polishes together!

Please forgive my poor pinkie nub, I know it looks kinda gross.

Please forgive my poor pinkie nub, I know it looks kinda gross.

On my ring and pinkie fingers I used three thin coats of Dollish Polish’s Expecto Patronum, a polish I bought entirely for its name (#HP4eva) but ended up genuinely loving. I’ve worn this only once before, over a white, but I think it looks better the way I’ve done it here because you can see the small aqua hex and microglitter pieces through the white jelly-ish base of each layer. I love how delicately beautiful this looks.

In the bottle there seems to be sparse multi-colored flakes as well as the glitter, but I didn't get any on the nail and couldn't get it on camera in the bottle, either.

In the bottle there seems to be sparse multi-colored flakes as well as the glitter, but I didn’t get any on the nail and couldn’t get it on camera in the bottle, either. Also I didn’t see that fuzz until after I took pictures. Curses!

Both UTSG and Expecto Patronum are really gorgeous polishes, and I love how perfectly their creators translated their names – UTSG really does recall thick, glittering falling snow on the nail, and Expecto Patronum is positively magical, like tiny aqua bubbles in a potion.

Playing with some macros because these polishes are so pretty!

Playing with some macros because these polishes are so pretty!

This is why I love indie polishes – their audiences are mainly die-hard polish heads, so they can pull off way more interesting/unique polishes and use cool, nerdy names for their creations that big companies simply can’t do because it wouldn’t sell in the salons that are their bread and butter (where the majority of clients get their nails done in traditional red and vampy shades). Thank goodness for the indie polish boom of that last few years, so I can have beauties like these!

12-02-13 hands side bottle auto

While it’s a little annoying that big red bows and be-ribboned wreaths go up before Thanksgiving nowadays, I love how beautiful everything looks with Christmas decor up, especially lights! The aqua glitters in this manicure kind of remind me of blue Christmas lights, which are my favorite. Multicolored lights are very festive and white are lovely and romantic, but there’s just something so cool about blue lighting! As usual, Disney knows how to do it right:

12-02-13 Disney

I can’t wait to see the castle decorated when I go in a few weeks; the twinkle lights change color every few minutes and sometimes there’s projected snowflakes, and it’s really just breathtaking.

Do any of you celebrate Christmas? Are you as excited as I am to decorate your home? Any thoughts on this mani?

Thanks for reading! See you next time – A x

2 thoughts on “Blustery & Blue

  1. I really love this combo! And the fact that there’s a polish named Expecto Patronum, and the castle gif, and Christmas. I’m also really into how you arrange the different colors on your hand. I am boring and when I do two different colors I usually just straight-up alternate them, but this is really cool. I’m pretty sure the thumb and ring finger accent nail thing I did the other week I did because of you and now I’m gonna try this.

Leave a Reply

