Sweater Weather

This is a really fun manicure! I’m pretty happy with how it turned out, despite my less-than-stellar stamping skillz.

12-15-13 bottle pic

I wanted to do something snowy, and Frosty is the perfect polish for the job! It’s a sheer white with delicate white shimmer that glints pink and green when the light hits it just right. It’s beautiful and very soft, and really does look like fresh snow sparkling in the sunlight. Here’s what Frosty looks like by itself:

I almost wore it just like this for a few days, but then it started to feel too girly/princessy to me. This is 3 thin coats, and in real life it was still a little bit sheer.

I almost wore it just like this for a few days, but then it started to feel too girly/princessy to me. This is 3 thin coats, and in real life it was still a little bit sheer.

I attempted to capture the green and pink shimmer, but you can barely see it here. It's much more noticeable in real life, and really lovely.

I attempted to capture the green and pink shimmer, but you can barely see it here. It’s much more noticeable in real life, and really lovely.

I love the white/silver/blue wintry color combination, and originally I was going to just do a glitter gradient of Lorelei’s Tiara, an amazing, opaque, and SUPER SPARKLY sterling silver glitter peppered with bright blue pieces. (Side note: I keep wanting to spell it “Lorelai” like my favorite Gilmore girl.)

That saucy minx!  via

That saucy minx!
via

Then I was randomly sifting through my Winstonia nail stamping plates and came across one of those “winter sweater” designs on plate W120.

Sorry for the awkward angle, it's hard to photograph without reflecting the background!

Sorry for the awkward angle, it’s hard to photograph without reflecting the background!

Well, that adorableness was obviously going to happen, so I grabbed Maybelline’s Navy Narcissist and got to stamping! However, I seriously underestimated how hard it was to stamp with a very intricate design. With more abstract or bigger designs (like the one I did in November) it’s fairly easy to just quickly plant the design down and it’ll look pretty good, but this one took a lot of precise maneuvering.

12-15-13 diagonal

I tried it on my right hand first and the stamps were a kind of tilted and off center, and didn’t go all the way to the edges, which always annoys me. I attempted my left hand and still hadn’t gotten the hang of it enough, but luckily a quick swipe of polish remover got it off so I could try again. The snowflakes on my pointer are a little smudged at the top and the sweater designs aren’t perfectly straight, but overall I think it came out pretty well and I really like it.

12-15-13 snowflake

I used the two tiny snowflake designs at the top of the plate a few times on my pointer finger and the winter sweater design on my middle and ring fingers, then did one full coat of Lorelei’s Tiara on my pinkie and used it as a gradient on my thumb.

12-15-13 curled

I loooooooove how Lorelei’s Tiara and Frosty look together. Snow Queen chic! They’re both super sparkly, so I did something I haven’t done in a while and made a little gif! Taken in the wine aisle at my grocery store cuz I’m classy like that.

52ae9c8ec76ceb101c000cc3

I confess that I’ve only actually encountered snow a few times in my life, but I do love it, and these nails make me think of wearing a thick sweater, being bundled up beneath a blanket, sipping on piping-hot coffee or cocoa, and watching the white world outside.

I know I’m romanticizing it since I’ve never lived anywhere with an actual snowy/icy/deathly-cold winter (and visiting a friend in Minnesota in late December/early January a few years ago was a real eye-opener about what most of the country goes through every year), but this little scenario sounds really nice right about now. Mmm.

Any thoughts on this mani? Are any of you actually experiencing a lovely, not-too-extreme snow?

Thanks for reading! See you next time – A x

5 thoughts on “Sweater Weather

  1. This is ADORABLE. I feel like stamping requires dexterity I don’t have, but I could totally do the gradient you have on your thumb. I just need to buy both of those polishes, since I don’t have any white or blue glitter, which is a shocking oversight on my part. Also, I love you for the Lorelai gif.

    • Aw thank you! Stamping is either the easiest or the hardest thing. I’m not really sure why, but I either do it brilliantly and feel like a BOSS or it’s a shit show and I almost immediately take it off.

      I think I saw a polish in Sinful Colors’ holiday collection that’s verrrrry similar to Lorelei’s Tiara which would be a great option (since this was part of a limited edition collation and I don’t know how hard they are to find now).

  2. Pingback: Going Back to 2011 | Fancy Finger Guns
  3. Pingback: An OPI Oldie: What’s With The Cattitude? | Fancy Finger Guns
  4. Pingback: Holiday Mani #5: Tropical Holiday | Fancy Finger Guns

Leave a Reply

