Christmas and Disney!

Merry Christmas if you celebrate it! I’ve got a quick little post today. I’ve been super busy the past few days, so I didn’t have time to make a full post for the mani below, which I wore for my family trip to Disney World.

I think the black I used was too runny, because the white ears turned out fine. Blerg.

I think the black I used was too runny, because the white ears turned out fine. Blerg.

On my middle finger there I attempted to do some little Mickeys with a dotting tool, but it was so.frakking.HARD to get the dots the same size, to get juuuuuust the right amount of polish on them so they didn’t just make huge blobs instead of discernible shapes…I had to re-do my middle finger three times, and it still doesn’t look great. But anyway, first I used a base of China Glaze’s famous Ruby Pumps, which is a lovely glittery red that went on well in two coats. I took this pic quickly in the airport, but I angled my hand so you can see the sparkle. I added one coat of Lynnderella’s Love, Lace and Lilacs – an awesome matte white glitter – on my pinkie and thumb, and on my ring was one coat of I Love Nail Polish’s Something About Merry because I wanted to use it again before the season was over. Besides my disappointment over my Mickey ears, I thought this was really fun and festive!

So my family goes to Disney World every year (even though my siblings and I are all well into our twenties now) for a nighttime event called Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party and it’s the best. I loooove Disney at holiday time! They have soap bubble snow (? I think) falling on Main Street, the lights and the fireworks show are so gorgeous, plus a fun thing they do for MVMCP is have hot cocoa and cookies at little stations set up throughout the park all night long. If you ever get the chance to go, I highly recommend it! I included a few pics and gifs below from this year’s trip.

Fireworks!

Fireworks!

The Buzz Lightyear ride is my dad's favorite.

The Buzz Lightyear ride is my dad’s favorite.

O Christmas Tree

O Christmas Tree

They really revamped this area of the park, this shiz is fancy now!

They really revamped this area of the park, this shiz is fancy now!

We never go on the teacups anymore, but they're so fun to watch.

We rarely go on the teacups, but they’re so fun to watch.

So pretty!

So pretty!

My current Christmas mani is a little boring but I couldn’t bring a lot of polish with me. This is two coats of Finger Paints’ Plum Startled with one coat of I Love Nail Polish’s Christmas in Bordeaux.

12-25-13 fingers

Actually, CIB reminds me a little of me dearly departed Party Hearty – they both have medium red glitter pieces, smaller green pieces, and gold micro glitter, except the red pieces here are squares, which I looooooove. It’s a really great formula, too. I thought the colors would pop over a deep purple, and I think it looks pretty good, albeit a little more subdued than I prefer my holiday manis. :) Plum Startled is not a fav of mine, though.

Wherefore art thou, shimmer?

Wherefore art thou, shimmer?

I bought it after seeing swatches on All Lacquered Up, and maybe I got a dud or something because mine has barely any shimmer, and what little is there gets mostly eaten up by the super dark base. This is the second time I’ve used it and I still hate it. Oh well, this was quick, easy and nice for Christmas, even though I got three big chips after one day due to all my cleaning and cooking!

12-25-13 curled

I actually got a few nail-related things for Christmas! I got the fan-designed Bundle Monster plates (which my sister and I have already played with a bit, and the designs are really cool, but a lot of them seem alarmingly big…?) and a Formula X for Sephora in TNT, which is a matte neon blue glitter. LOVE. I can’t wait to bust this guy open, it’s so pretty! (Not that you can really tell in the photo, sorry!)

12-25-13 prezzies

Did any of you get any fun polish gifts? Have anyone been to Disney World or Land for the holidays? I hope you’re all having a great day! Thanks for reading, see you next time – A x

Leave a Reply

