In Which I Attempt a 30-Day Challenge

While killing time at the airport two days ago, I saw on Instagram that there was a “Totally Doable 30-Day Challenge” and decided to take the plunge! I’ve always loved seeing my favorite blogs do these things and come up with incredibly inventive nail art. Now, I’m not a “nail art” person, per se – meaning I can’t recreate an exact replica of The Mona Lisa on my pinkie with acrylic paints or anything, like some bloggers can do! – but I love me a theme plus the point of this challenge is that it’s pretty chill and “doable” so it’ll be more fun than anxiety-inducing.

01-05-14 stragiht words

Of course, having said that, my first submission is a little lame. But I was jet lagged and had lots of running around to do this weekend and was already a day behind on the challenge, so I needed to just quickly slap something on my nails. This is one of my favorite polishes, Color Club’s Blue-Ming, which feels like the very definition of “fresh” to me, especially since I’ve been wearing dark/holiday colors lately! I received a tiny sample of this in a Birchbox sometime last year and quickly ran out to get a full-sized bottle.

Please excuse the ding on my ring finger and how crappy my painting looks around the cuticle. I did this in record time, on my way out the door, and I'm surprised I didn't mess it up more!

Please excuse the ding on my ring finger and how crappy my painting looks around the cuticle. I did this in record time, on my way out the door, and I’m surprised I didn’t mess it up more!

Blue-Ming’s color changes a bit depending on what light it’s in, looking like a light aqua or more green, closer to a turquoise. The formula is finicky – super streaky so it takes at least 3 coats – and it usually chips in a day or so, but I genuinely don’t care. This bright aqua hue makes me happy whenever I catch a glimpse at my nails and even makes me look like I’m a little tan (sadly I’m currently the palest I’ve ever been in my life) so it’s a win in my book.

01-05-14 curled upside down

If any of you are going to participate, let me know your blog or Instagram name, I’d love to check out what everyone’s doing!

This was a quick one, so that’s all for today! I’m hopefully going to brainstorm something a little more fun for the next few challenges and I can’t wait to see what you all will be doing! Thank you so much for reading, see you next time – A x

Leave a Reply

