#nailartjan Day 6 – Sparkles

Hi all! My entry is late again, but it’s because I was trying to catch a sunlight pic and of course it’s been weirdly hazy and overcast the last two days. Challenge the second, “sparkles,” was actually kind of hard for me. I had a bunch of ideas and was originally going to do something very dainty but then I remembered this polish, which I haven’t worn in a very long time:

01-07-14 bottle

Enchanted Polish was one of the first indie polishes to make a splash a few years ago. They’re super fancy now and got lovely professional bottles from what I’ve seen on other blogs (I’ve never been able to snag another one!) but I kind of like the indie polishes I have with handwritten or typed labels like this. It’s like the bottle was created just for you! Anyway, I don’t think Cray Cray is part of the line anymore, which makes my lone EP bottle all the more special to me!

Shot outside in cloudy weather - this is what it looks like most of the time.

Shot outside in cloudy weather – this is what it looks like most of the time.

I also love the name, it’s so fun telling people when they ask! Cray Cray is multicolored holo glitter in a clear base. There’s blue, magenta, purple, and maybe silver glitter pieces along with linear holo shimmer! Check out the macro:

01-07-14 macro

WUT. How gorgeous does that look? Cray Cray is sparkly enough under indoor lighting but the holo doesn’t come out until you’re in the sun or harsh direct light (which is why my skin tone is so crazy in some of these pics, I had to blast unfiltered light to show the holo).

01-07-14 diagonal

You could definitely get this opaque in three coats but as with all my indies/expensive polish babies, I layer them to conserve polish. Here I’ve got one coat over Essie’s No More Film, a dark, cool-leaning blurple creme that I bought on a whim a few months ago. It’s not my normal color jam – I prefer warmer purples – but it’s a one-coater, which is pretty awesome, and I liked how Cray Cray looked over this instead of a plain black, like I was originally planning.

No More Film looks positively blue in all the photos I took, so I gave up trying.

No More Film looks positively blue in all the photos I took, so I gave up trying.

I did get one shot in super bright, direct sunlight, shot in my car.

01-07-14 in car

Sparkle achieved, y’all! What do you think of Cray Cray? Are you lucky enough to own any Enchanted Polishes?

Thanks for reading! See you next time – A x

Leave a Reply

