#nailartjan Day 11 – Pastel Blue

This one took a while, but it was so worth it. I’m not usually very girly, but this is adorable and I really love it! The challenge was “pastel blue” so I decided to go for a rococo-inspired mani, adding peach and white to my color palette.

Back row: white Konad stamping polish, Orly Prelude To A Kiss, Milani White On The Spot; front row: stamper, striping tape, tweezers, Konad plate m79, Bundle Monster BM21

Back row: white Konad stamping polish, Orly Prelude To A Kiss, Milani White On The Spot; front row: stamper, striping tape, tweezers, Konad plate m79, Bundle Monster BM21

Unfortunately all these polishes were streaky as hell, so I had to do three coats of both Baracuda and Prelude To A Kiss. Barracuda also had a tendency to flood my cuticles, so I had to go really slowly with it and the layers didn’t match up so it looks weird at the bottom. PTAK was still a bit streaky even after three coats but I knew I’d be doing designs on top, so it didn’t bother me as much as it normally would. My bottle of White On The Spot has gotten gross, so it was kinda lumpy after two coats on my pointer, but again, I was going to cover it up.

Please excuse my nubbin pinkie!

Before adding any embellishments. Please excuse my nubbin pinkie!

Once the base colors were dry, I did my stamping! I stamped my middle and ring fingers using my tiny, ancient bottle of white Konad polish that came in a little stamping starter kit I got years ago. The polish didn’t perfectly transfer on the polka dots (Konad plate) on my ring finger, but did pretty well on the swirly design (Bundle Monster plate) on my middle finger. I forgot how small the designs were on those BM plates! Luckily I just filed my nails down a bit, otherwise I don’t think it would’ve covered my whole nail.

01-11-14 curled around flower

Next was the time-consuming part, taping! I painstakingly placed striping tape pieces an even width apart with my fun mermaid tweezers on my pinkie and pointer. Then I stuck two pieces of tape to my palm a few times to make them less sticky, and placed them to make a triangle shape on my thumb.

See what I mean by it being weird towards the bottom of the cuticle?

See what I mean by it being weird towards the bottom of the cuticle?

Once all the tape was in place, I did one coat of Barracuda on each nail, waited a few seconds, then did another quick coat. You can’t wait too long to pull the tape off because the polish will start to dry on the tape then when you pull it up your design is all messed up, but Barracuda is pretty sheer at one coat so I had to add another. I immediately pulled the tape off after the second coat on each finger, though, and let it dry for about five minutes just to make sure I didn’t dent it. I put a coat of Seche on each nail but the striped nails were still bumpy so I added another coat. I kind of wish I had done peach with blue stripes on my pointer, too, because I love how it looks on my pinkie! It looks like the decoration in a whimsical sweet shop or something.

01-11-14 curled4

I don’t think this will last very long because of how many coats of polish I used, but I’m holding out hope because I want to enjoy it for a few days! I’m really surprised how much I like this. It’s very Marie Antoinette, no?

Any thoughts on this mani? Anyone else doing this nail art challenge?

Thanks for reading! See you next time – A x

Leave a Reply

