#nailartjan Day 19 – Sweets

Ehhhhhh here’s another one that I’m not too fond of. I did this really late because I was so enamored of my previous manicure and wanted to wear it longer, and I’m kind of glad I have a new challenge tomorrow so I have an excuse to take this one off. For the “sweets” theme I tried to replicate those candy buttons. How gross were those things, by the way? The rainbow colors always drew me in, though :)

China Glaze Sunday Funday, Sally Hansen Insta-Dri Lightening, Nox Beauty Crush, Milani White On The Spot.

China Glaze Sunday Funday, Sally Hansen Insta-Dri Lightening, Nox Beauty Crush, Milani White On The Spot.

I painted two coats of Milani White On The Spot, which is reeeeeeally goopy and lumpy, and isn’t self-leveling anymore, so I really need to get a new bottle because I use it so much for nail art! Anyway, when that was dry, I got out my Konad stamping plate m79 with polka dots and brushed a little yellow in the middle of the design, pink at top and blue at the bottom. When I scraped, sometimes the colors would mix a bit and I’d get a some green or orange.

Annnnd as usual I made a huge mess!

Annnnd as usual I made a huge mess! And obvs I recycled this paper towel from my previous mani.

The problem is, none of these colors were very good to stamp with. Well, they were all opaque enough to show up, but were really smear-y, so lots of the dots didn’t look opaque or the shape of the dot is smudged. Sigh. Below is a pic of both hands, you can see that I got more of the cool gradient mixing on my right hand than my left.

Left.

Left.

Right. (Sorry for the chip on my pointer! Blame on my goop-master Milani!)

Right. (Sorry for the chip on my pointer! Blame on my goop-master Milani!)

This obviously isn’t an exact copy of the candy – the dots aren’t in straight columns or close together – but I was too lazy to attempt doing it with dotting tools. I have a really hard time making perfect dots with them, and that would’ve been a LOT of dots! The smearing really disappointed me but in theory I like this mani, I think it’s really fun! I’ll eventually try it again with colors that stamp better.

Ugh my hands look so red and weird in all these pics! I don't know what happened.

Ugh my hands look so red and weird in all these pics! I don’t know what happened.

In more exciting news, I got my polishes from the most recent Zoya promotion! Three PixieDusts are now mine, mwahahaaaaa. I need to think of a way to use them in the next challenge, because I’m dying to try them out!

Dahlia, Godiva, Stevie - my first PixieDust shades!

Dahlia, Godiva, Stevie – my first PixieDust shades!

Thanks for reading! See you next time!

Leave a Reply

