#nailartjan Day 25 – Match OOTD

This is late, because I only just put up the previous challenge yesterday, which was already like three days late. Sorry, I’ve been busy the last few days! I’m going to try my best to get the last three challenges up on time. Anyway, today’s challenge is to match your OOTD (outfit of the day), and I slightly cheated by basing my design off an outfit I wore Friday night, even though I did my nails late Sunday.

Polishes used:

Milani White On The Spot, Sally Hansen Black Out, Ulta Piñata Yada Yada, OPI Glitzerland.

Milani White On The Spot, Sally Hansen Black Out, Ulta Piñata Yada Yada, OPI Glitzerland.

The polishes were pretty basic, but the design legit took

Also, my nails look super terrible up close – the black polish bled and I tried to fix some parts but ended up scraping off the white underneath as well, and…well, I apologize in advance!

Here’s a shot with my nails with the outfit my design was based off of, a striped dress and glittery belt.

Please forgive my messy-ass living room in the background ha.

Please excuse the jewel-toned mess in the background that is my living room!

Pretty good, right? I started with a base of my (lumpy, gross, ugh I need a new bottle!) Milani White On The Spot on each nail except my ring fingers, which I painted with a base of OPI’s Glitzerland. When Glitzerland was dry, I dabbed on two coats of Piñata Yada Yada (fun name) to get all the glitter evenly distributed. Piñata Yada Yada doesn’t quiiiiiiiiite match because the belt is mainly gold/silver/pale pink with scattered blue/green/red pieces and my polish is a Happy Birthday dupe which has equal parts silver/gold/pink/red/green/blue but it’s close enough.

Looking at it now, I really wish I had used that metallic lavender Essie under the glitter, I bet that would've made it look more like the belt. Oh well.

Looking at it now, I really wish I had used that metallic lavender Essie under the glitter, I bet that would’ve made it look more like the belt. Oh well.

I did a coat of Seche over WOTS and then once that was dry I started painstakingly arranging my tape pieces. I meant to get a photo of my hand with all the tape pieces but it was taking a lot longer than I thought it would, and I honestly forgot once I was in the middle of it. (But you can see from the finished design how many pieces I used!) Once all the tape pieces were in place I quickly painted a coat of black over top. Unfortunately, a lot of the tape pieces weren’t staying down so Black Out bled a bit and I didn’t get the cleanest lines, plus the aforementioned “attempted to fix but ended up making it worse” issue. Blerg. Well, from a distance it doesn’t look that bad.

01-27-14 outfit shot  close

I’m still deciding what to do for the next challenge; there’s one I really want to do but I don’t know if I have adequate materials and/or patience for it. Maybe I should just pick something that’s a bit easier but will definitely turn out well? Hmmmm. Well, thank you all for reading! See you next time – A x

3 thoughts on “#nailartjan Day 25 – Match OOTD

Leave a Reply

