Pastel Neon Ombre

Ahhh I’m sorry I haven’t posted in so long! It’s been really busy ’round these parts. I do have a really fun manicure for you today, using all China Glaze polishes.

From left: Creative Fantasy, Are You Jelly?, Heat Index, Neon & On & On, Son Of A Peach

From left: Creative Fantasy, Are You Jelly?, You Drive Me Coconuts, Neon & On & On, Son Of A Peach

The first four are from last year’s Sunsational neon collection, and Creative Fantasy is from the awesome Cirque du Soleil collection which was in late 2012, I think? I just bought the Sunsationals last week, when I was at my favorite polish supply store and saw they still had some, which I’d been meaning to pick up. I already have Too Yacht To Handle and That’s Shore Bright but I always wanted Son Of A Peach for some reason, despite not really being a peach/orange person. I grabbed Son Of A Peach, You Drive Me Coconuts, and Are You Jelly? then noticed the “Buy 3 China Glaze, get one free” sign. WELL. I obvs needed a fourth! They didn’t have Highlight of My Summer, which I also really wanted, so I added Neon & On & On, despite it not wowing me in the bottle. On the nail, though, N&O&O was my favorite! It’s super neon and basically glows, as you can see in the picture below.

I took all these photos outside because I couldn't get the colors accurate in the lightbox.

I took all these photos outside because I couldn’t get the colors accurate in the lightbox.

I’ve read that the Sunsationals have terrible formulas and yeah, they’re not great, but they’re pastel and neon, both of which are notorious for having troublesome formulas, so I knew what I was getting into. I did three coats of each color, although I think You Drive Me Coconuts probably would’ve been fine at two. Neon & On & On was streaky and didn’t really self-level (I put it on my toes and my big toe looks kind of lumpy, barf) but honestly I love it so…whatever. Are You Jelly? was pretty streaky, too, as was Creative Fantasy, but that’s a common trait for purple jellies, unfortunately (also, you will never be able to get the Creative Fantasy bottle color on your nails, which is a tragedy).

02-07-14 curled

I stamped each finger with China Glaze 2030, my favorite gold to stamp with, using the splatter design from Bundle Monster CYO plate BM-416. I tried to stamp the image in different directions and positions so it would look unique each time, like I really splattered it, but I don’t know how successful I was. I love this stamp, though, because splattered polish looks awesome but is a messy pain in the ass.

While I was outside taking photos I realized that Neon & On & On matched the skulls on my favorite scarf!

While I was outside taking photos I realized that Neon & On & On matched the skulls on my scarf!

That’s it for today, I promise I’ll be more prompt with my posts this week! Sometimes the days just get away from you, you know? It’s been a weird and busy week. I did manage to see some of the Olympic Opening Ceremonies, though, and was delighted that they put Mr. Trololo in! My sister and I love that video, it will never not make us giggle. The highly idealized 1950s/1960s also cracked me up. Russia, you cray.

Thank you for reading! See you next time – A x

5 thoughts on “Pastel Neon Ombre

  1. Pingback: Untried Polish Month! | Fancy Finger Guns
  2. Pingback: Month of Untrieds: Neon Mint and Textured Gold | Fancy Finger Guns
  3. Pingback: WNAC August Nail Art Challenge: Cobalt & Peach | Fancy Finger Guns

Leave a Reply

