Month of Untrieds: Texture Polish and a Dupe!

Once I rounded up all my untried polishes, I realized I have a few more than I thought (oops) and while I know I probably won’t get to use them all in one month, I’m going to try to use as many as possible by combining some of them in a few manicures, like today’s!

China Glaze Seahorsin' Around, GAP Bright Pool, OPI Suzi's Hungary Again!

China Glaze Seahorsin’ Around, GAP Bright Pool, OPI Suzi’s Hungary Again! Also, I didn’t notice until now that you can see my reflection (and phone case) in the GAP bottle top!

Bright Pool is a dupe for Rescue Beauty Lounge’s Aqua Lily. RBL is a pricey brand, and while I’ve liked a few swatches I’ve seen online, there’s never been a color that I HAD to have, until Aqua Lily, part of a collection where RBL worked with a handful of fans to create their own color. I still wasn’t into it enough to pay $18 plus shipping to get it, though, so I forgot about it until I read somewhere that GAP had a dupe.

It was really hard to capture the pink shimmer on my nails, but you can see it here.

It was really hard to capture the pink shimmer on my nails, but you can see it here.

I didn’t even know GAP had nail polish – I haven’t stepped foot in one since probably ninth grade – but this past Christmas while at my hometown mall I popped in to see if they had it. Turns out they did, and it was on sale for three dollars. Score! I haven’t had it very long, but I’m excited to finally put this bad boy on!

Here's a quick pic taken in sunlight - you can see the shimmer a bit here.

Here’s a quick pic taken in sunlight – you can see the shimmer a bit here.

Since Bright Pool is teal with pink shimmer, I decided to pair it with Seahorsin’ Around, a teal(ish) texture from China Glaze, and Suzi’s Hungary Again! (groan), a warm medium-toned pink. I honestly can’t tell you why I picked up Suzy’s Hungary Again! – I’m not usually a pink person, and when I am it’s hot/neon/magenta pinks all the way, but I think I’d read a rave review online or something and my polish hoarder side tricked me into thinking I needed it in my collection. True, I don’t have a pink like it, and the formula is nice, but for me it’s a kind of boring, which is why I combined it with Seahorsin’ Around.

I added some pink rhinestones because the fingers with just Bright Pool felt too plain next to the half-moon nails.

I added some pink rhinestones because the fingers with just Bright Pool felt too plain next to the half-moon nails.

Seahorsin’ Around is part of the China Glaze collection for this spring. This was the only color I was drawn to, although I nearly picked up “Sand Dolla Make You Holla” for the name alone! Seahorsin’ Around is a teal with gold and turquoise shimmer that’s really sparkly. It’s also very opaque, this is only one (thickish) coat. It’s kind of rough, very similar to the Zoya PixieDusts, but the sparkle makes the texture worth it, for me.

I love how textured polishes with shimmer like this look like space rocks or something!

I love how textured polishes with shimmer like this look like space rocks or something!

I’m not a big fan of this manicure. Maybe it’s because the blue + pink felt too girly for me, or maybe because I don’t really like how the half moons look on my slightly longer nails (or how the half moons look a bit messy)? I don’t know what it was, but I took this off after like a day and a half ha. Onward to the next combo!

P.S. Did anyone else see the B&W/noir episode of Pretty Little Liars? (Yes, I am too old to watch that show and yes, it’s mostly shitty, but I really love the girls’ friendship and also the occasional great one-liners.) I was actually pleasantly surprised – sure, nothing much happened, but that’s the norm for this show, and the crew really went all-out with everything from cinematography to costumes and makeup. Really, it was gorgeous, and it reminded me how much I love my noirs! I’m probably going to watch one tonight, maybe Double Indemnity?

Thanks for reading! See you next time! A x

Leave a Reply

