Month of Untrieds: Fail

Bleh. Not a fan of this combo, so this’ll be quick. At least I know I can purge these and make room for some polishes I do want, which is the great thing about this month! I used:

OPI Save Me, Milani Dressmaker

OPI Save Me, Milani Dressmaker

Milani Dressmaker should’ve been a polish I really liked – it’s a pretty jade color, and I do love my yellow-leaning greens – but for some reason I just really, really wasn’t feeling this. It felt boring, almost kind of…frumpy, somehow? I know that sounds weird ha. It was also frightfully sheer – this is three fairly thick coats and there’s still VNL (visible nail line). A color has to be pretty spectacular for me to do four coats, and this just ain’t one of them.

The VNL doesn't really show in these photos, but trust me, it's there - boooooo.

The VNL doesn’t really show in these photos, but trust me, it’s there – boooooo.

Dressmaker dried fairly slow, too, so I waited a full five minutes or so between each coat. After it was dry, I added one thin coat of Save Me. This is from the Nicki Minaj collection a year or so ago, and I’m really not sure what I was thinking when I got it. I’m not a fan of glitters with plain silver glitter and bigger chunks of another color, and bar glitter isn’t usually my jam, either. Also, I thought the bar glitter in Save Me was holographic, and while some are, it’s mostly pink, blue, and yellow pieces.

Sorry for the crappy clean-up job - I had a feeling I wouldn't keep this on for long ha, so I didn't bother trying to make it look nice.

Sorry for the crappy clean-up job – I had a feeling I wouldn’t keep this on for long ha, so I didn’t bother trying to make it look nice.

I don’t know, maybe Save Me would look cool if it was built up or layered over a darker color, but I rarely attempt full coverage with glitter because I can’t stand the removal. It went on very nicely, though, and the bars weren’t hard to move around.

02-18-14 diagonal

I didn’t even wait a full 24 hours before this mani came off. I did replace it with one that I love, though, so I’ll get that up for you guys soon. Thank you so much for reading! See you next time – A x

Leave a Reply

