Neon On A Rainy Day

I’ve been so happy because it’s been lovely and cloudy and chilly and RAINY the past few days! An extra benefit of rain in LA is that everyone stays home/off the roads so the city is way less crowded than usual, making this a very successful weekend for getting my errands done and easily grabbing a seat at my favorite lunch spot.

Is there anything more divine than sipping a perfect cappuccino outside at a little bistro table while the rain pours down?

My view as I sipped a perfect cappuccino outside at a tiny bistro table. Heaven.

But I did spend a fair amount of time straight loafin’ on my couch, catching up on Hannibal and sipping hot tea while it poured outside. I’ve also been brainstorming a theme for March, since that’s a pattern I’ve gotten into and I really like it, because sometimes I get nervous that I won’t have anything interesting to post on here if I don’t have some kind of prompt, even if it’s pretty vague. I was uploading a few photos from the blog to Pinterest the other day and went back through my older manicures on there. I used to just post photos I took of my nails when I was sitting in traffic on the way to work or on my lunch break – if you want a giggle, there are some truly terrible photos in my “My Manicures” board from when I had a shitty old phone – and I kept saying to myself “Aw, I forgot I had that polish!” or “Whoa, it’s been forever since I wore that.” So my “theme” for this month is old favorites – basically me rummaging through my stash and pulling out some polishes I truly love but haven’t worn lately (or, you know, in like a year). So…get ready for some bright-ass colors, y’all.

My first March mani is one of my all-time favs, China Glaze’s Surfin’ For Boys. It’s from the 2012 summer neon collection – of which I own almost every single polish, because that collection was amazeballs – and normally corals aren’t my bag but DUDE this gorgeous color caught my attention from the first moment I saw it. It’s eye-searing coral with subtle pink shimmer, a great formula, and just looks good all year round, especially on your toesies in the summer!

I did these in a bit of a rush (as usual) so please forgive the not-totally-smooth top coat situation, I accidentally globbed too much on while adding the studs.

I did these in a bit of a rush (as usual) so please forgive the not-totally-smooth top coat situation, I accidentally globbed too much on while adding the studs.

I didn’t want to add a bunch of other polishes in the manicure because I wanted to soak in this faboosh color, but I thought some studs might be cool. I recently got a bunch of circular studs from Born Pretty Store, so I wanted to play around with those. I’ve only ever had square studs, and I actually had a bunch of really cool ideas for designs but…then I got lazy so I just did this:

03-02-14 diagonal pink shimmer2

I think it looks nice, though. Ugh I just love Surfin’ For Boys. I always get so many compliments when I wear this, because it’s something crazy lacquerheads and more conservative polish-wearers alike can get into. I’ve also given this polish away to so many people as presents, it’s seriously such a huge hit with everyone.

I managed to catch a bit of the pink shimmer here.

I managed to catch a bit of the pink shimmer here.

I’m so into this manicure – maybe it’s the circular studs, maybe it’s my new shorter nails, maybe it’s just the color, but I really love this. I’m kind of excited to dig out all these old favorite polishes this month. I feel like a lot of what I’ve put on this blog so far isn’t my normal thing – which is great, because I started this blog to get out of my comfort zone/laziness – but I’m ready to get back to some classic “me” polishes. I hope you enjoy seeing these, too! See you next time – A x

P.S. This is already kind of a long post, but I just quickly wanted to say that I reached ten followers! I really and truly appreciate every one of you for keeping up with my silly little blog, thank you so much!

One thought on “Neon On A Rainy Day

  1. Pingback: May Nail Art Challenge #4: Coral! | Fancy Finger Guns

Leave a Reply

