MORE Purple?

Yup! This is gonna be a quick one because I’m on the road in a few hours and Mama’s still gotta pack! I’ve been doing a lot of purple lately but a few of us are going to Vegas to visit a friend for her birthday, and it’s her favorite color so I had to do a purple mani for this weekend. Or lavender, to be more precise:

04-04-14 bottles

I wanted to do something fun and sparkly, so you can’t go wrong with holo and glitter, right? I LOVE this Color Club glitter, I got the whole collection for like $7 at a Ross a few years ago, and I don’t wear them nearly often enough. The lavender color is so dainty and pretty but the holo effect is blinding. Then of course Ludurana’s Supremo has a super-strong holo spectrum that is spectacular and now I’m wishing I had incorporated it more into this mani!

My left hand pinkie nail ripped off pretty far down and it was a bit gruesome, so I've had to do photos of my right hand today.

My left hand pinkie nail ripped off pretty far down and it was a bit gruesome, so I’ve had to do photos of my right hand today.

I didn’t really have time to think up a cool design, so I fell back on my staple – glitter, stamped, half moon (or a variation thereof) skittles. I think I may need to do a nail-art themed month or something, so I can jump start my creativity. I do still like this combo, though, because let’s be honest – at heart I’m a lazy bastard, and this combo means I only have to do a little of each kind of nail art and I don’t need to attempt to match them up or anything.

04-04-14 curled in front of bottles

I was originally going to use China Glaze’s Sweet Hook as my lavender creme but next to all my other polishes its pink-leaning hue looked way out of place, so I switched it out for Sally Hansen’s Lacey Lilac. I did this in my living room, which has shitty lighting (j/k, my entire apt has shitty lighting), and I couldn’t tell if two coats were sufficient as SH pastels tend to be a little streaky, so I did three total just in case. The stamp on my middle finger is Bundle Monster plate BM-408 from the Create Your Own collection, and I kinda wish I’d used a darker purple so you can see the adorable design better – it’s little glitter pieces! The lavender metallic of Nothing Else Metals was perfect for stamping, though, and I only needed one coat for the tape design on my ring finger.

In the sun...

In the sun…

…and in the shade so you can see Nothing Else Metals better.

…and in the shade so you can see Nothing Else Metals better.

I attempted a glitter fade on my thumb, and I think it came out pretty well considering I’m not that great at them. Ahhhh the sparkliness of this mani makes me so happy. It’s really going to shine in the desert sun :)

04-04-14 thumb

I hope everyone has a great weekend, and thank you for reading! See you next time – A x

Leave a Reply

