The Trend Continues…

I can’t stop using purple in my manicures lately! Which is weird because I’m not even a huge purple fan. But I saw this photo on Pinterest and the colors inspired today’s design.

04-11-14 bottles no outline

So I like this manicure but DUDE, I could not stop messing it up! Every time I had just applied a layer of polish, I’d bump my hands into each other or accidentally hit the table or something. I don’t know what was wrong with me, but this manicure was kind of cursed – I also had a hard time getting crisp lines with my tape, and weird little fuzzies (?) kept attaching themselves to my polish (unseen by me until I’d applied top coat, of course), plus I noticed that somehow little smudges of my purple tips got on the rest of my nails…? Bleh. Soooo not my best attempt, but I really dig this combo:

How on earth did Funky Dunkey streaks get on the rest of my nail? I didn't even swipe on my top coat in that direction!

How on earth did Funky Dunkey streaks get on the rest of my nail? I didn’t even swipe on my top coat in that direction!

I do wish I’d made the bottom angles on my middle and ring fingers more sharp because they just look like a straight line, but I really like these colors together. I think in my inspiration photo the wall was a light pink, but I don’t have a color like that and besides, I’m always happy to rock Sweet Hook! Mint Sorbet was kind of a headache, though – it’s always needed three coats to cover the streakiness but it’s also gotten thick, making it a bit unmanageable, hence my crappy cuticle line. Funky Dunkey was fine in two coats and I’m pretty sure Honey Ryder is a one-coater, but as I’ve mentioned before, my apartment has terrible lighting, so I did two just to be safe.

Sweet Hook also gave me a little application problem, as you can see by my janky cuticle lines. CURSED, I tell you!

Sweet Hook also gave me a little application problem, as you can see by my janky cuticle lines. CURSED, I tell you!

Hmm. Maybe I’ll do a little series on Pinspiration (hahaha ew) because I’ve been a little uninspired with my manicures and need a little push. I definitely need to do more interesting nail art things, but I’ve been pretty intensely lazy lately. I do loooove the gradient on my index, though – I’m only kind of okay at gradients, and I’m wary of colors that aren’t close to each other because I don’t think they blend together very well, but I think this looks awesome (might be the gold glitter top coat, though?).

04-11-14 curled

I apologize for the short post again, I’ve had a busy few weeks but it’s because friends are in town, so yayyyyy! Tomorrow I’m going to the Los Angeles Festival of Books, so I’ll prob write a little about that next time. I’m really excited because I’ve always wanted to go!

Thank you for reading! See you next time – A x

2 thoughts on “The Trend Continues…

  1. Pingback: Textured Bubbles | Fancy Finger Guns
  2. Pingback: Rimmel London Sweetie Crush | Fancy Finger Guns

Leave a Reply

