Textured Bubbles

Back with another simple mani!

04-18-14 bottles3

I bought OPI’s Jinx sometime last year along with Get Your Number, back when the texture trend was juuuuust starting out. I’ve written before about my love for the OPI texture shades so when Jinx caught my eye the other day I knew I had to wear it again. I decided to pair it with another bright color and some quick ‘n’ easy nail art.

Jinx looks really orange in the bottle but on the nail it's more muted and definitely more coral than straight orange.

Jinx looks like a super-saturated orange in the bottle but on the nail it’s a bit more muted and definitely more coral.

I’ve also had Aquadelic on this blog before, and man, I think I need to grab a backup bottle before it gets too hard to find. I don’t know what it is about this color, but I just adore it – it’s the perfect bright aqua, has an easy two-coat formula, and it just makes me happy to look down at my nails and see it! I really like Aquadelic paired with the orangey coral of Jinx; often I’m nervous to pair complementary colors since in their most basic hues they can have very strong connotations (red + green = Christmas, yellow + purple or blue + orange don’t look like anything but sports team colors to me) but this aqua and coral look beautiful, especially with the gold shimmer in Jinx!

DAT SPARKLE.

DAT SPARKLE.

I’m terrible at doing basic, uniform polka dots with dotting tools, but something like this where the size and position of each dot is supposed to vary are much easier for me to do. I always start out intending to do a subtly curved line just along the side of my nail, but inevitably I end up with a sharp slope across half of it. I think it’s cute, though – the aqua/coral is a bit sea-like in a The Little Mermaid kind of way, and the dots remind me of tiny bubbles.

Also - my pinkie nail finally doesn't look gruesome so I can show my left hand again! Thank God, posing my right hand is so awkward.

Also – my pinkie nail finally doesn’t look gruesome so I can show my left hand again! Thank God, posing my right hand is so awkward.

Did everyone see the new trailer for season two of Orange Is The New Black? I’m thrilled that there’s less Piper, that Daya is calling that hot guard out on their power imbalance, more background on characters, and just…damn, this looks good. I watched all eight season of Weeds but really it only had four good seasons (and that’s being a little generous with season four) so I’m a little nervous that Jenji Kohan might not be able to pull off the amazingness of season one again, but I have hope! I feel like with all the many, diverse characters and their unique microcosm of prison that there’s room for more stories than Nancy Botwin selling drugs in the ‘burbs – not that Weeds’ story wasn’t fantastic when it was on top (I will forever count those first few seasons as some of my favorite of TV!) but there were only so many jams Nancy could “I’m a hot white lady” her way out of.

(Random fact: there used to be an It’s A Grind – the coffee shop from the opening credits that Nancy is often seen sipping – a few minutes from me and it was my faaaaav but it changed owners and now it’s called something really lame, and it never fails to make me sad when I drive by.)

Oh Celia, I think I miss you most of all. And Conrad. And Isabelle. And Heylia. Damn, now I kinda want to start rewatching from the beginning… via

Oh Celia, I think I miss you most of all. And Conrad. And Isabelle. And Heylia. Damn, now I kinda want to start rewatching from the beginning…
via

Any thoughts on this mani? Anyone else super mega excited for OITNB (or Weeds? I can talk about Weeds all day)?

Thank you for reading! See you next time! A x

2 thoughts on “Textured Bubbles

  1. Confession, I didn’t read the whole post, but I needed to tell you that this color and finish combination is TO DIE FOR. I love it!!!! I don’t have Jinx (I have Zoya Destiny), but Aquadelic is one of my favorite polishes. :)

    • Ahhh thank you! I don’t know why it took me so long to put coral/orange and aqua together. I feel like I may be doing this combo a lot more this summer…

Leave a Reply

