Ye Old Gold Filigree Mani

This past weekend I went to my first Renaissance Faire! It was pretty awesome, and obvs I had to do nails on theme. I knew I wanted to use my new Gilded Rose by Maybelline polish and some gold nail decal/stickers I got forever ago from Born Pretty Store, and since Gilded Rose is a dupe of a-England’s She Walks in Beauty, I ended up basing my design on this gorgeous look by The Polished Perfectionist.

4-28-14 bottles

Ever since I first saw swatches of She Walks in Beauty I was weirdly entranced – weirdly because this very feminine polish with its pale pink glitter is not usually my style, but something about it really got me. However, I try to not spend too much on individual polishes, and at $10 a pop before shipping, a-Englands are out of my reach unless I’m treating myself (like when I got Dragon and St. George a few years ago), so I was excited when I found out Maybelline had a dupe. It’s taken me a loooong time to find one in stores because it’s always sold out, but I managed to score this guy along with some seriously discounted OPIs at Ulta a week ago.

Taken in front of the pretty tent where we got henna tattoos.

These pics were all taken in outside in blinding sunlight/dusty air, so they’re not the best. Also, please forgive the dried Seche Vite on the sides of my nails, I know it looks kind of gross. :/ This was taken in front of the pretty tent where we got henna tattoos.

The formula was a little annoying – the glitter tends to clump together and if the bottle cap is off for more than a few seconds it gets thick, but nothing too unmanageable. I did two coats of Gilded Rose over two coats of OPI’s Samoan Sand on my ring, and dabbed it onto my tips on my pinkie, pointer, and thumb. Alas, I’m terrible with creating fades no matter how much I try, so my tips don’t look as great at The Polished Perfectionist’s, but I don’t even care because I loooooove the combination of Open Seas’ soft green with the bright yellow-gold and pink sparkliness of Gilded Rose.

In this shaded pic (holding my delicious raspberry cider!) you can  sort of see how reflective Gilded Rose is.

In this shaded pic (holding my delicious raspberry cider!) you can better see how reflective Gilded Rose is.

The sticker on my ring was a bit tricky. I applied a sticker to the middle finger on my right hand and applied a coat of Seche Vite over it to ensure it wouldn’t come off, but putting top coat on ruined the beautiful matte gold effect. On my left hand I tried putting top coat down first and then laying the sticker on top, but it still seeped through and messed up the finish, plus it kept catching on things and half pulling off, so I eventually put top coat over it as well. These stickers are definitely not going to last a week, but they’re pretty for a day or two. I’m determined to eventually figure out how to keep that bright matte finish…

The best photo I managed to take was this one, weirdly enough! It was the only one where Open Seas was color accurate, plus you can kind of see the reflectiveness of Gilded Rose in the shade of the sword.

The best photo I managed to take of my mani was this one, weirdly enough! It was the only one where Open Seas was color accurate, plus you can kind of see the bright gold of Gilded Rose in the shade.

If you’ve never been to a Ren Faire, you should def go because it’s super fun. The one here in Southern CA was huge – we were there for about five hours and still didn’t get to see everything! There were weapon demonstrations, vaudeville-esque shows, turkey legs, jousting, and endless booths selling everything from corsets to candles to chalices and entertainment varying from archery to turtle racing to some weird thing where people get into plastic bubbles and flail around on water. The location and weather were gorgeous and the people watching was maybe the most fun of the whole event. I only wore a flower crown but I’m tempted to go full medieval next time – there were so many amazing costumes and y’all know how much I love a theme!

Has anyone ever been to a Ren Faire? I regret not getting to try the throwing stars booth but there’s always next year!

Thank you for reading! See you next time – A x

One thought on “Ye Old Gold Filigree Mani

  1. Pingback: A-England’s Dragon | Fancy Finger Guns

Leave a Reply

