Throwback Polish

Whooooooops, this was supposed to go up a few days ago but I got unexpectedly busy, sorry! I was in the mood for some brights, and I came up with this combo that seemed a bit ’90s to me.

This is color accurate, although on the nail Dream On is a bit darker and Turquoise Blasted didn't photograph as bright on the nail.

This is almost 100% color accurate, although on the nail Dream On is a bit darker and Turquoise Blasted didn’t photograph as bright.

Dream On is impossible to get an accurate photo of when it’s on your nails. It’s not as bright as it is in the bottle, but it’s still pretty bright. I’ve had this bottle for about five years, I think, and while the formula was a little bit thick, it was in a good way, making Dream On almost opaque in one coat. It definitely needs top coat, because it dries to that ugly, almost chalky matte finish true neons have, but top coat somehow brightens the color up and makes it shine. Dream On is also a shape-shifter – it can look like a super red-toned magenta; a darker, more fuchsia berry; or almost-neon purple. I only use my iPhone camera, so I don’t have too many tricks or settings to play with, but I attempted to capture how Dream On looks in different lighting (although all of these are still a bit too red).

I took this in my dark garage using the flash.

I took this in my dark garage using the flash.

This was in my car outside in the shade.

This was in my car outside in the shade.

This was in the full sun, slightly tweaked it in editing to get that neon tone across that comes out when it's in bright light.

This was in the full sun, slightly tweaked it in editing to get that neon tone across that comes out when it’s in bright light.

Crackle/shatter/blasted/whatever polishes were a fad starting around 2010, I believe, and they faded pretty quickly. I feel like most lacquer heads probably wouldn’t touch a crackle with a ten-foot pole now, but I still like them, I think they’re fun! I got Turquoise Blasted a year or so ago when it was on mega sale at Sephora, and it is so, so gorgeous. It’s a beautiful vivid teal-leaning turquoise and ughhhhh, I really wish it was a regular polish and not a crackle. I mean, look at that color!

Photo_1

I wonder if I do a suuuuuper thick coat if I can get it to not crackle? Hm. Anyway, it also dries a tiny bit matte, and top coat slightly deepens the color, as well. Crackles don’t allow you to see very much of the base color, so I just did a little angled swipe of Turquoise Blasted towards the top to keep both pretty colors on my tips! Annnnd here’s another bunch of pictures in different lighting:

Again, here's a bunch of photos in different lighting. This one actually seems pretty close to what Dream On looks like on, though, albeit a bit darker.

This one actually seems pretty close to what Dream On looks like on, though, albeit a bit darker.

In direct sun.

In direct sun.

Slightly shaded.

Bright shade, aka the sun was out but I was in the shade.

Total shade.

Darker shade, aka the sun was behind clouds and I was in shade.

So fun! Unfortunately, this did chip really quickly (you can already see tip wear and some chipping in the above photos, taken over two days), probably due to the thick formulas, but I really liked this a lot! I know I’m never not in the mood for brights, but it’s been really hot (and of course, bright and sunny) here so I’m feeling the need for really vivid colors. I’m thinking neon green and peachy coral would be a fun combo next. We’ll see!

Thank you so much for reading, see y’all next time – A x

P.S. Did everyone get their Earth Day Zoya orders in?! I got: Kelly, Giovanna, Payton, Dillon, Solange, and Sunshine! It was hilariously difficult for me to decide – for example, I hardcore waffled between Sunshine or Chita and kept switching them out in my basket for three days. I surprised myself with some of my choices, like Kelly (so not me), but I’m excited for their arrival! You’ll definitely see them here soon!

Leave a Reply

