Zoya Haul!

I finally received my spoils from the Zoya Earth Day promotion! And they’re prettyyyyyy:

05-08-14 bottles

Yay! I thought I’d do a quick little swatch and review since there’s so many. (Please excuse my horrible nails here – they’re all different shapes and lengths for a variety of reasons, but I hope they’re not too grotesque!)

Dillon, Giovanna, Kelly.

Dillon, Giovanna, Kelly.

Dillon: Hmm…jury’s still out on this one. I like it in theory, but I think maybe the mint is a bit too washed-out for my taste. It feels almost…frumpy, somehow? The gold shimmer is pretty, though. This one required three coats for full opacity.

Giovanna: Love! I adore a good saturated jewel tone, and this slightly metallic, blue-leaning emerald is bee-youuuu-ti-fullll! Slightly thicker formula, almost a one-coater but I needed two.

Kelly: I like this color a lot – it feels very chic – but it turns out it’s quite similar to China Glaze’s Concrete Catwalk, which I already own, so I’m a little bummed about that. I thought it was going to be a bit more purple-leaning. :/ Great formula, though – this was two thin coats.

Solange, Sunshine, Payton.

Solange, Sunshine, Payton.

Solange:

Seriously, everyone needs this! It’s a gorgeous metallic sunshine-y yellow/gold that is sparkly as balls, to boot. This is two easy coats, but in some lights I can still see my nail line, so I may add a third coat to this next time.

Sunshine: This is…not what I was expecting. It’s a muted navy (kind of reminds me of China Glaze’s First Mate) and is not as sparkly as my other PixieDusts. Sunshine falls a little flat to me. It was, however, a one-coater, so I’ll keep this around for days when I need an uber-quick mani. (I did do two coats here, though, in a failed effort to coax a little more shimmer/sparkliness out.)

Payton: Fabuloso! I loved the irregular holo particles of Dream and Aurora, so I had a feeling I’d like Payton, but I wasn’t prepared for how much I’d love the color! It’s called “cranberry” on the Zoya site, but I’d say it’s more like a deep plum. In fact, it kind of looks like a much-darker Aurora. Whatever the color is called, it’s stunning, and while the holo isn’t as bright as in the other two, it adds a lovely depth to Payton.

As I mentioned previously, I had a really hard time choosing which polishes for this promotion! I really wanted Destiny, but I already own OPI’s Jinx, and they’re similar enough colors that I couldn’t justify it. I’m trying to cut down on how much polish I buy, so I’m only trying to get ones that fill holes in my collection (I’ve had a deep green metallic on my list for a while) or that are really special (like these unique textures). After receiving my order, I’m not 100% sure about Dillon or Sunshine, but overall I’m pleased with my choices :)

Anyone else participate in the Zoya Earth Day promotion? I’d love to hear what you got!

Thank you so much for reading! See you next time – A x

4 thoughts on “Zoya Haul!

  1. Well, they look pretty darn good on you! (YAY SOLANGE!) I got my Zoyas yesterday, and I’m excited, too. :) Curious to see what your final verdict is on Dillon — I wore it a few weeks ago and I thought it was what my friend Madeline refers to as “aggressively fine.”

    • I’m gonna wear Dillon as a full mani soon when I’m a little more tan (maybe it’ll make the color pop more?), but I have a feeling I still won’t like it…”aggressively fine” is a perfect term for how I feel about it :/

  2. Pingback: Once Upon A Dream… | Fancy Finger Guns
  3. Pingback: What I Wore: Fourth of July | Fancy Finger Guns

Leave a Reply

