A Sunny Combination

I couldn’t resist playing further with Solange, and originally I thought it would pair nicely with some oranges from my stash, but I ended up not liking the combo that much:

The lighter orange is Zoya Arizona and the deeper orange is China Glaze Riveting. Love both of them, just not with Solange, for some reason.

The lighter orange is Zoya Arizona and the deeper orange is China Glaze Riveting. Love both of them, just not with Solange, for some reason.

Then a day or so later when I was at my fav beauty supply store (buying presents, I swear! Okay, I may have picked up two for myself too) and I was given a little gift – a two-pack of Color Club In Theory, a salmon-y peach, and Wild Cactus, a gorgeous blue-leaning teal that was impossible to capture accurately (of course). I love that place, they’re always so nice and helpful, and this isn’t the first time I’ve gotten a little gift with purchase (I didn’t even buy that many things, for once!). I’m preeeeetty sure they think I’m a nail tech since I buy so much nail polish/supplies, but whatevs. If you’re ever in the downtown LA area, pop down to Skyline Beauty because it’s amaze. But anyway, back to my nails!

05-12-14 bottles

Once I saw Wild Cactus, I KNEW it would look amazing with Solange and as soon as I got home I took off my previous mani to put these two together. I adore this pairing – the vivid jungle green of Wild Cactus looks so fabulous with the metallic sunshine yellow of Solange. I don’t know what it is about both of these polishes, but I’m obsessed with them…don’t be surprised if you see them pop up in my manicures all this summer!

Wild Cactus looks a bit flat in these photos, but trust - in person it's sooo rich and gorgeous.

Wild Cactus looks a bit flat in these photos, but trust – in person it’s sooo rich and gorgeous.

I used some little nail guides that I also picked up at Skyline – I was delighted to see angular ones as well as the usual French guides! The top is a little rounded, which I like, because V gap manis are my standby but usually they’re super sharp because I just do them with tape, and the nail guides give me a little variation.

05-12-14 in front of bottles

I did one thin then one slightly thicker coat of Solange on my middle and ring fingers, to make sure no green shone through. On my thumb, however, I experimented and only did one coat, which makes Solange come across as more gold than yellow.

Wild Cactus in the background here is probably closest to how it looks in person.

Wild Cactus in the background here is probably closest to how it looks in person.

Okay, one more photo for good measure! You might notice the Solange area looks a little lumpy on my middle finger – I mentioned that I applied Solange a little thickly, and I guess it still wasn’t dry two hours later, because I looked down and it was almost completely scraped off. I managed to sort of reshape it but I had to add more polish to fill in the messed up areas, but it honestly doesn’t look that bad in person.

Arghhh sorry for the random glitter, I was touching up where Solange had chipped a bit.

Arghhh sorry for the random glitter, I was touching up where Solange had chipped a bit.

I’m so in love with both of these polishes! The weird thing is, I’m usually more of a yellow-leaning green person; blue-leaning greens usually aren’t my jam but Wild Cactus has just jumped into my favorites list (as has Solange, I think it goes without saying). There’s not much else to say, except I think everyone in the world needs both of these polishes. I think Wild Cactus may be similar to China Glaze’s Four Leaf Clover, which I’m pretty sure I own (no judgements, I own a lot of polish, y’all, sometimes I forget one!), I’ll go looking for it and report back if it’s a possible dupe, but either way, swoooooon. I haven’t been this in love with a manicure in a long time!

And since I’m wearing Solange, I can’t resist:

Anyone else way too amused about Solange Knowles trying to beat the shit out of Jay Z? I can’t wait to read the press release trying to explain away that! I also love what some awesome person wrote into Solange’s Wikipedia page:

Anyone else share my crazy love for Solange (both the polish and the person) and/or deep greens? I’d love to hear in the comments!

Thanks for reading! See you next time – A x

Leave a Reply

