A Glitter Experiment

I love seeing photos of El Corazon polishes online. I think they’re a Russian brand and I have no idea where to get them, but they’ve got some cool polishes. I particularly love their collection with tiny matte white and black glitter, which I first saw on Nailz Craze. I decided to see if I could make something similar – when you’ve got as many polishes as I do, you should be able to dupe almost anything, right?

05-23-14 bottles

I don’t have tiny white glitter, but Tangled In My Web fit the bill for small black glitter. I’ve only worn it a handful of times since I never really knew what to do with it before now. Unfortunately, the formula is a bit difficult – it’s got a very thick clear base and the glitter itself is pretty sparse, so I had to carefully maneuver to get an even sprinkling of glitter pieces.

05-23-14 diagonal up

I needed sheer-ish polishes for my jelly sandwich, but I hate seeing my nail line, so I did one thick coat of Sunkissed as the base for my yellow nails because In The Limelight takes a million coats to be opaque. I only needed one normal coat of You Drive Me Coconuts (YDMC), though, because it’s really opaque jelly polish.

Ack, sorry about those chips! I had to take these pics super quick so I didn't notice them until just now.

Ack, sorry about those chips! I had to take these pics super quick so I didn’t notice them until just now.

Then I did the normal jelly sandwich routine: added a coat of glitter, a thin coat of YRMC and In The Limelight over that, another coat of glitter, and a final thin coat of color. I actually attempted to do this with a full rainbow of neons – pink, orange, yellow, green, and blue – but the orange, green, and blue weren’t as sheer so they didn’t allow for that “glitter suspended in polish” look I was going for.

05-23-14 diagonal down

It did feel a little thick on the nail, but surprisingly it only took one regular coat of Seche Vite to smooth everything out. I’m pretty pleased with how this came out, actually. I love the pink nails, they reminds me of dragon fruit, although my sister keeps calling them my “poppy seed nails.”

Ready for the weekend, y'all!

Ready for the weekend, y’all!

I’m sure it’s gonna be a bitch to get all the glitter off, but I’ll just enjoy this while I’ve got it on. It’s very summery and eye-catching – I’ve actually had people grab my hand to get a closer look! I will definitely be rocking this look again in the future, it’s too fun. I hope y’all liked this mani as much as I did, and I hope everyone has a fun and safe long weekend! Thank you for reading, see you next time – A x

2 thoughts on “A Glitter Experiment

  1. Pingback: One Day You’ll Be Cool… | Fancy Finger Guns

Leave a Reply

