One Day You’ll Be Cool…

When my beloved neon jelly sandwich started chipping, I wanted something pretty yet simple to replace it. I chose an old standby and a favorite blue, resulting in a lovely manicure.

China Glaze Too Yacht To Handle and OPI My Vampire Is Buff

China Glaze Too Yacht To Handle and OPI My Vampire Is Buff

I wasn’t happy with this gradient – I like ’em to have a smooth transition from one color to the next, with the gradation between colors very subtle, not looking like stripes but seamlessly blending. I didn’t achieve that on all my nails here (particularly on my middle and pointer), but I was doing it at midnight with almost no light, so I’m not gonna be too hard on myself.

I also got two huge bubbles somehow on my ring finger. WHYYYYYY

I also got two huge bubbles somehow on my ring finger. WHYYYYYY???

I would grumble that My Vampire Is Buff (MVIB) is a three coater, but it’s a light cream and that’s pretty much par for the course with these kind of colors. I don’t know why but there’s something about MVIB that I love – I think it’s because it’s a neutral that doesn’t make me look sickly plus it feels chic but not boring by itself (it’s certainly not the name, oy vey). Unfortunately, due to the three coats I needed for the base and then the additional coats of Too Yacht To Handle (TYTH), this chipped almost immediately, as you can see on my thumb in the photos. Blerg.

I also had a hard time making the cuticle area nice…maybe because MVIB is kinda thick?

I also had a hard time making the cuticle area nice…maybe because MVIB is kinda thick?

TYTH is, of course, fabuloso. It’s a super bright turquoise and that color just makes me happy, man. TYTH combined with MVIB looks sort of beachy cool, and I love it. If only gradients weren’t such a bitch to clean up, I’d do them all the time!

05-26-14 messy

Sunday night some friends and I saw Almost Famous at the Hollywood Forever Cemetery. These Cinespia screenings are one of my favorite things to do in LA, even though it’s become way too packed and overpriced (haaaa that could be said about everything fun in LA)!

A sea of people and palm trees...

A sea of people and palm trees…

I do try to go at least once a summer, and while it feels a little irresponsible to throw money away on a screening of a movie I’ve inevitably seen hundreds of times, it’s so fun to see a beloved film with a huge audience that loves it as much as you. If you’ve never been, everyone brings picnic blankets and food and wine that they spread out in front of a mausoleum where the movie will be projected.

Waiting for the movie to start...

The movie’s about to start!

While you wait for the movie to start there’s a DJ playing songs in theme with the movie you’re about to see (oh man, there were some killer ’70s jams playing on Sunday!) and they used to have props from the movie but now they have a setup to take awesome themed photos:

My sister, me, and our friend M…how great is that set?! It's totally William's room!

My sister, me, and our friend M…how great is that set?! It’s totally William’s room!

The best part, though, is when they have someone who worked on the movie pop by, and last night Cameron Crowe was there! He said a few words about the making of the film and Philip Seymour Hoffman’s acting methods, and seemed genuinely thrilled about how many people turned out.

05-26-14 Cameron Crowe

It’s a really fun experience despite the few drawbacks, and you should definitely try to go if you’re in LA for the summer!

Thank you so much for reading, and I hope you all had a fantastic weekend! See you next time – A x

4 thoughts on “One Day You’ll Be Cool…

  1. You always seem to be doing really cool things in LA. If I ever come out that way again, we are definitely spending a few days together :)

  2. Pingback: Neon Gradient and a Witch Baby Soap Review! | Fancy Finger Guns
  3. Pingback: May Nail Art Challenge #9: Mani You’ve Never Posted Before | Fancy Finger Guns

Leave a Reply

