Captain Ahab Approved

Any summer nail art theme isn’t complete without a nautical manicure, so I put together this fun design.

06-15-14 bottles

First and foremost, I wanted to let y’all know that everything went wrong with this mani, so it’s not my best, I apologize! Now that that’s out of the way – I’m obsessed with this giant tentacle stamp on my ring, it’s so fun! I had to include it to spice up the usual “anchors and stripes” nautical look. Unfortunately, it stamped like crap. I’m not sure if it’s 2030 – which didn’t even transfer the first time I tried it, freaking me out because it’s my favorite stamping polish! – or the stamp itself, but I could not get a super opaque, crisp image. The stripe/anchor design stamped fine, as you can see:

I stamped the tentacle on my thumb, too, but you can't see it in these pics.

I stamped the tentacle on my thumb, too, but you can’t see it in these pics.

I also kinda wished I’d used China Glaze’s First Mate instead of Bermuda Blue, because it dries significantly darker on the nail than it does in the bottle so it’s hard to tell it’s blue and not black, but oh well. Bermuda Blue is a one coater, which is obviously great. I thought it would be fun to do a neon coral or pink instead of the usual red/navy nautical color scheme, so I suffered through Neon & On & On’s terrible formula for this. Every single time I use that polish it’s a whiplash of emotions – annoyance at how it needs at least four coats to be non-streaky and opaque, adoration at the gorgeous color, anger when after all that work it chips after one day…

06-15-14 curled

I added some little studs to the stripes on my ring which I think are so cute, it reminds me of a nautical striped shirt with buttons. However, I used blue striping tape and as you can see, it bled into My Vampire Is Buff – and this is after I tried to salvage some clean lines since the striping tape kept coming off my nail. At this point I was thisclose to just taking the whole thing off and doing something else, but I figured I’d already come this far so I kept going. I do like this mani – I think the squid keeps it a little more weird (in a good way) than the usual nautical design and even though the striping tape bled, I love the “buttons” – but argh it was just so much work. I need to do something really simple next time!

06-15-14 diagonal

On a slightly more positive note, I saw 22 Jump Street today and it was hella good. I don’t want to amp it up too much, but I definitely thought it was as funny as the first one. I especially loved the end credits. I’m so glad Phil Lord and Christopher Miller have become such a big thing – I’ve loved them since Clone High, the short-lived MTV show that my best friend and I were obsessed with in high school (and we even found a way to buy shitty DVDs from Canada, which was the best decision of my life). If you’ve never seen it, I think there’s some episodes on YouTube so you should get on that pronto. You’ll thank me later.

Thank you for reading! See you next time – A x

Leave a Reply

