Bunting Nails!

I’ve been wanting to do bunting/ nails for a while, but I didn’t have any brushes near as fine as what I’d need to do it, so I finally ordered some nail art brushes I’d been eyeing on Winstonia (FYI they’re having a 20% sale right now [which I missed, dammit!]!) and they finally arrived a few days ago so I tried them out!

Oops - as usual, I forgot to add my base coat color, it was Snow Me White by Sinful Colors.

Oops – as usual, I forgot to add my base coat color, it was Snow Me White by Sinful Colors.

These brushes are super fine, and I used the smallest/shortest three for this manicure. I had to do the banners once then go over them again – I’m not sure if it was because I dipped the brushes into little dabs of polish on a napkin, so the polish got too thick, but originally the banners were super streaky from an issue with brushstrokes/filling in the polish. They still weren’t perfect in the end, but it was late and they looked really great in person so I left them at this (stupid cameras, exaggerating flaws!):

Ahhhhhh I didn't see that huge chip on my thumb when I was taking these pics, I'm sorry!

Ahhhhhh I didn’t see that huge chip on my thumb when I was taking these pics, I’m sorry!

I still had a bit of an issue with getting a nice straight line – a few hairs of the brush would always sort of stray or separate and it was a little frustrating. I don’t think it was the polish – the second time I just dipped my brush into the bottle so it wasn’t exposed/gloppy – but maybe it was user error somehow? I think maybe I just need to get used to them – you can tell by the not-at-all-similar size/shape of the bunting that I’m not half as good at freehand nail art as some of the other way more talented ladies out there! But I really love having a way to do slightly more detailed nail art, though – I’m not going to be painting the Mona Lisa on my nails anytime soon, but now I can do little things and even tiny touch-ups!

06-25-14 down

I’m sorry for the super sporadic posting – I just started a new job and I’m verrrrrrrry slowly adjusting to the new hours/schedule, so I haven’t done as many designs this month as I’d originally wanted to, but I definitely have at least one more summery nail art coming up soon.

Weirdly, my polish is fully intact in this photo. I must've banged my nail between taking this photo and the others…?

Weirdly, my polish is fully intact in this photo. I must’ve banged my nail between taking this photo and the others…?

I hope you guys liked this post! Thank you for reading, see you next time – A x

4 thoughts on “Bunting Nails!

Leave a Reply

