Katy Perry Concert and Nails!

Hi everyone! This weekend I went to the Katy Perry Prismatic concert with my sister and two of our good friends and it was really awesome. I’m not a huge KP fan but she did most of her big, fun hits and the costumes, sets, and everything else about the show was really cool. I’ll have some pics and gifs below but first I’d like to show you the nails I wore!

09-24-14 curled2

I had so many ideas of what to do so it was hard to narrow it down, but I finally chose to do a manicure inspired by Katy herself, with a little added holo sparkle since her tour has a “prism” theme. I did two coats of Essie’s Sexy Divide, a deep metallic royal purple, then topped it with one thick coat of Nubar’s Violet Sparkle, which I just picked up this weekend. I was really impressed with Violet Sparkle – it barely had any texture because the glitter pieces were so small, which I loved because I hate having to cover glitter with multiple layers of top coat to get it smooth. After I applied top coat, I used tweezers to quickly add different rhinestones along the side of each nail. On my accent nail, I simply dabbed on gradient of China Glaze’s Techno; I really wanted to use some holographic foil that I picked up, but I couldn’t find my foil glue. :((((

This doesn't look super similar to Katy's manicure, but I was running out of time and I still think it's pretty fun.

This doesn’t look super similar to Katy’s manicure, but I was running out of time and I still think it’s pretty fun.

Here’s a few of my favorite photos from the concert. “Roar” kicked the concert off with a bang and she ended with “California Gurls” (ugh, that “u”) before an encore of “Birthday” and then “Firework,” during which everyone wore these 3D-looking glasses that made all the lights look like holographic explosions.

There was lots of cool stuff like dudes being suspended in the air with sparks coming out of their guitars and Katy flying around the stadium on a huge bouquet of balloons during the encore, and lots of weird stuff like a huge balloon of the poop emoji and a video of cats taking over LA, but overall it was really fun and cool with the prism-shaped stage and super colorful decor. My favorite costumes were the first outfit Katy came out in, a holographic top and skirt edged with LED lights, and her huge, flow-y gown and pastel rainbow wig for the ballad portion of the show, which unfortch I couldn’t get a good photo of.

Loooove this neon-lighted holographic outfit!

Loooove this neon-lighted holographic outfit!

This was during the '90s segment, which was pretty awesome.

This was during the ’90s segment, which was pretty awesome.

A little drive-by Katy floating on balloons.

A little drive-by Katy floating on balloons.

"Vogue" catwalk.

“Vogue” catwalk.

I know I haven’t posted very much this month, but despite the heat still lingering, I’m getting into a very autumn state of mind, and that’s gonna be reflected in my manis since it’s not cool enough to bust out my fav fall clothes yet. I’ve got some fun ideas I can’t wait to try out. Thanks for reading, and I’ll see you next time!

P.S. Don’t forget to enter my giveaway! See the previous post for info!

Leave a Reply

