Nail Quickies: Matte + Dry Brush

Hi everyone! Here’s a quick mani I did recently. I used Zoya’s Ibiza, which I remembered as being a bit lighter than this but you can barely tell it’s blue, bleh. I really dislike almost-black colors; I just feel like, what’s the point? Anyway, I added a matte top coat then busted out my bottle of Sally Hansen Color Foil Nail Makeup (why the long-ass name?) in Liquid Gold.

Oh jeez, I just noticed all the chips/tipwear. Forgive meeeeee, I took these pics super late after work one night and also matte polish chips SO QUICKLY.

Oh jeez, I just noticed all the chips/tipwear. Forgive meeeeee, I took these pics super late after work one night and also matte polish chips SO QUICKLY.

I picked up a few of these new foils when I saw them on sale at Target a few months ago but this was my first time using one. It was really hard for me to get the dry brushing technique correct with this polish; if the tiniest bit was left on the brush it was too opaque, as you can see on my pointer, but if I brushed it off more than that there really wasn’t enough on the brush to use. I’m not thrilled with how this turned out, but I feel like it looks kind of bad ass. I’d liked to try it again with a different design. Here I just tried to do a criss-cross type thing.

09-27-14 diagonal

I’m probably going to post once more before October, when my Halloween manicures begin. Eeeeeeeee I love Halloween! I have some fun ideas planned and I can’t wait. Thanks for reading, and don’t forget to enter my giveaway! See you next time – A x

Leave a Reply

