It’s Herrrrrrrrre…

It’s October 1st, and I couldn’t be happier! Fall is my favorite season (although it’s supposed to get hot again this weekend, grumble grumble) and Halloween is by far my favorite holiday, so I always do a full month of Halloween-y manicures because why not? Last year I also did a little write-up of my favorite spooky movies at the end of each post, and I think I’ll continue that because it’s fun. Anyway, here are the polishes I used for the first manicure of the season:

10-01-14 bottles

I didn’t want to repeat polishes from last year but a few of them are straight-up Halloween in a bottle and I don’t feel right wearing them any other time of year, so you’ll be seeing them again this time around – and one of those polishes is Crows Toes’ VooDoo, which may be my absolute favorite Halloween polish! I wrote lots about it last year, but as a quick recap, this polish is kind of hard to put on because it’s got so much glitter, so it does take a little finesse to apply. I don’t mind the chunkiness that much, though, because it’s Halloween perfection in a bottle, consisting of orange bars and medium hexes; deep purple shards, hexes, and lighter purple squares; and micro glitter pieces in orange, purple, and green.

10-01-14 macro

In the interest of keeping things fresh, I decided to try something new so I attempted a reverse glitter gradient, and surprisingly I really like it! I think layering it over Petra was a good idea, too – I like the contrast of the murky, purple-y gray with the brightly saturated orange, green, and purple glitters.

As usual, please forgive my cuticles - I swear, I cannot figure out how to keep them hydrated and non-gross.

As usual, please forgive my cuticles – I swear, I cannot figure out how to keep them hydrated and non-gross.

I’ve accepted that I’m never going to be good at glitter gradients – for some reason I can’t get the hang of how to make the glitter nicely fall down the nail into the perfect gradient – but I think this turned out okay. I like that it’s not super over-the-top Halloween; it looks kind of chic, actually.

10-01-14 diagonal

The movie I’d like to talk about today is Poltergeist, an ’80s classic. I haven’t seen it in years but it holds a special place in my heart – it was one of the first horror movies I ever watched as a kid.


I feel like Poltergeist still holds up really well – I mean, obviously some of the effects are dated now, but in general the story and the build up to the dramatic rescue are still great. I’m a sucker for haunted house movies, and this is one of the best. (A house built over an ancient Native American burial ground, helloooo?) And did you know this movie is part of the reason the MPAA created the PG-13 rating? There used to be nothing between “PG” and “R,” and Poltergeist‘s creators successfully argued it down from an R to PG but it got a lot of criticism because the horror scenes were actually pretty intense.
The scariest thing in a movie about violent, vengeful ghosts? This freaking CLOWN. via

The scariest thing in a movie about violent, vengeful ghosts? This freaking CLOWN.
via


I love the beginning of this movie so much – the scenes of suburban domesticity, the few clues that there’s something going on that only little Carol Ann can see, the initial excitement turning to fear once the adults discover the supernatural happenings – and even though the effects are kind of cheesy at the end, there’s still some genuinely creepy/gross/scary moments, like when the mom is in the pool pit with skeletons or of course the infamous maggot in meat scene. Bleh. Oh, and of course one of the best things about this movie is Zelda Rubenstein helping to get Carol Ann back. This house is clear, y’all!

Any thoughts on this mani or Poltergeist? Let me know in the comments! Thanks for reading, and I’ll see you soon with my next spooky manicure :) – A x

P.S. Congratulations to Kate N, the winner of my September sparkliest giveaway, and thank you so much to everyone who participated! I’m thinking about doing an Instagram giveaway sometime in the future, so stay tuned for details!

One thought on “It’s Herrrrrrrrre…

  1. Pingback: A Zoya Deal, and My List of Favorites | Fancy Finger Guns

Leave a Reply

