Dark Glamour

Hi everyone! How’s your October going? it’s a super busy month for me and I’ve been planning nonstop – I’ve got my apartment fully decorated for Halloween, a trip to a pumpkin patch scheduled for next weekend, and I’m starting to put together my costume, yay! Today I’ve got a manicure using one of my favorite spooky color combos, black and green.

Orly's Here Comes Trouble and Sunglasses At Night

Orly’s Here Comes Trouble and Sunglasses At Night

I originally want to do something with green and purple glitter, but then I couldn’t find the purple glitter I wanted so I ended up with this look and I love it! I used one coat of Wet ‘N Wild’s Black Creme, my go-to black, and added a layer of top coat to my middle two nails. After an hour or so, I applied hole reinforcement stickers at the cuticle then painted two thin coats of Here Comes Trouble, and removed the stickers. I love Here Comes Trouble – it’s a perfect grass green, has a subtle depth from the combo of fine glitter and small hexes, and even has a pretty smooth texture that only needs one layer of top coat.

10-06014 curled

I was less impressed with Sunglasses At Night. I’ve been picking up and putting back down this polish every time I go to my fav polish supply store, and a few weeks ago I finally bought it because I thought it would be perfect for Halloween. Sunglasses At Night is composed of black holographic bar glitter in a sheer tinted base, and while I’m not normally a fan of bar glitter, something about it really caught my eye. Unfortunately, the formula is really shitty – it’s super watery and difficult to grab a good amount of glitter. I do love the actual glitter itself, though – it’s definitely holographic but when it’s on the base color looks blue instead of black, which is pretty unique and looks really cool.

10-06-14 up

Today’s movie post is a total guilty pleasure – Practical Magic. This movie is not great, and at times is quite painfully ’90s (that soundtrack!) but for some reason, every time this movie is on ABC Family, I have to watch it. I’m totally a sucker for the “small-town New England in October” setting, so that’s definitely a part of this movie’s allure for me. Anyway, if you’ve never seen the movie, it has three generations of Owens witches – Aunts Jet and Frances, main characters Sally (Sandra Bullock) and Gillian (Nicole Kidman), and Sally’s daughters Kylie and Antonia – living in a small town where Sally is trying to deal with her husband’s death and raising her kids in a place where people gossip about the Owens being witches.

Sally, of course, is the “super talented witch who just wants to be normal and doesn’t use her powers” cliche, trying to raise her kids to be “normal,” which is difficult as they live with the super witchy aunts. Sally is the wild child who left home as a teen, and the main story is kicked off when Gilly calls Sally for help escaping abusive Jimmy. The women end up accidentally killing Jimmy as they try to escape, and when they bury him in the aunts’ backyard they think they’re safe, until weird things start happening and a cop comes calling to find him.

There are a few jump-y moments when Jimmy comes back, and I think the movie does a nice job at creating tension for the scenes with Jimmy and later with the hot cop who’s investigating. The end exorcism (I guess?) scene is also pretty cool. Mostly, I just really love the sisters’ relationship – Gillian is flighty and immature, Sally is stubborn and jaded, but they appreciate each other despite their flaws and will do anything for each other. Also, Stockard Channing and Dianne Wiest really make the most out of their short screen time as the aunts. When you’re not in the mood for something scary but still want that October/Halloween feel, Practical Magic is a good movie to pop in.

Thoughts on this mani? Anyone else feel oddly compelled to always watch Practical Magic? Has anyone read the book (which I also like a lot)? Let me know in the comments! Thank you so much for reading, and I’ll see you next time – A x

Leave a Reply

