Monster Blood

Today’s manicure sort of reminds me of the covers of the Goosebumps books from the ’90s.

I used to looooove that series, and read them constantly. I actually still have the first two Goosebumps books I ever owned. P.S. – if anyone’s feeling really nostalgic, the TV show is streaming on Netflix right now. You’re welcome.
I used to not really be into the “drip manicure” look – I kinda thought it was weird unless it was done as blood or slime for Halloween. For some reason it’s grown on me lately, but I‘ve still only done it for Halloween, ha. I’m pretty pleased with how my drips came out here – I didn’t want it to look too cartoony, despite the color scheme, and I think I managed the perfect oozy drip here.

Doesn't this look like a weird, old potion bottle?

Doesn’t this look like a weird, old potion bottle?

I really love the green/purple color combo for Halloween – it evokes imagery of weird, bubbling concoctions in a mad scientist’s lab – and I think it was a great choice for a slime-y look. I’ve discussed my love of yellow-toned greens before, but ughhhhh Def Defying is so great! I wore it by itself for a day before doing the drips because I didn’t want to cover it up once it was on!

10-12-14 diagonal

In keeping with the ’90s Halloween theme, today I’d like to talk about Disney’s TV movie Tower of Terror.

via">via

<a href="via“>via

If you’ve never seen this movie as a kid, it’ll probably be lame but if you grew up watching it like I did, you’ll get a kick out of rewatching it like some friends and I did recently. It’s really cheesy and definitely super ’90s, but hey, I love cheesy ’90s. Anyway, this was a TV movie that Disney made to promote their then-new Tower of Terror attraction, and it stars Steve Guttenberg and Kirsten Dunst, playing uncle and niece, respectively. “Uncle Buzzy” is a disgraced former reporter who now can only get work doing ridiculous stories and photos for tabloid magazines, using his niece Anna to pose as everything from ghosts to Bigfoot. An old woman gets in touch with Buzzy about the mysterious disappearance of five people sixty years ago that caused the closing of the glamourous Hollywood Tower Hotel – their elevator dropped (of course) and they were never seen again. Buzzy and Anna go to fake some photos of ghosts and some weird shit starts happening.

10-12-14 TOTset1

Watch out, Keeks!

Watch out, Keeks!

Buzzy and Anna find out the ghosts are real, and they work together with Abigail; Q, a mechanic and heir to the hotel if it should ever be fixed; and Jill, Buzzy’s previous editor/lovah, to try and help free the ghosts. As seen in the above .gifs, the effects are hilariously bad and the dialogue/story isn’t riveting, but it’s a fun throwback that’s probably easy to find on YouTube (I’m one of the last people to get discs from Netflix, which is how we watched it).

If you’ve ever seen Tower of Terror, please tell me in the comments so I know i’m not alone in my cheesy TV movie love! Thanks for reading, and I’ll see you next time with another fun Halloween look. – A x

Leave a Reply

