Candy Splatter

I wanted to do something completely different with today’s look but I was stuck for a while before I thought of doing my usual blood splatter mani with Halloween colors instead of red. I’m pretty pleased with the result, although adding the black makes me think more of Reese’s Pieces than the candy corn look I was originally going for. :/

10-15-14 bottles

I started with a base of everyone’s favorite white with a drop of gray, My Boyfriend Scales Walls. It was still streaky at two coats, but I knew I’d be splattering over it. Then came the messy part! I love splatter nails but I swear, I can never get it quuuuuuite right – see how on my pinkie the polish just looks smudged instead of splattered? And yet it’s perfect on my middle finger. Blerg. Maybe I’ll go back to using a regular straw instead of my current method of coffee stirrer, although in the past that just made big splotches. Sigh – I can’t win!

10-15-14 curled around bottle

However, I’ve finally landed on a way to make cleanup a breeze – smear Vaseline around your cuticles! I read this somewhere a long time ago but this was the first time I’ve tried it out myself, and it worked like a dream. After carefully making sure not to get any Vaseline on my nails themselves, I splattered away and when I was done, I just used an orange stick to gently scrape away the Vaseline from my cuticles, taking the excess polish with it. Huzzah!

10-15-14 curled

My Halloween-y movie today is a new favorite that I just discovered thanks to Netflix Instant – The Awakening. It’s set during one of my favorite time periods – the spiritualist movement of the 1910s/early 1920s – in England, where Rebecca Hall plays Florence, a famous writer who busts fake mediums making their living by tricking poor grievers into thinking they’ve contacted their deceased relatives. A teacher from a remote boarding school contacts her, urged by the school matron who’s a fervent fan of Florence’s work, and against her initial judgement, Florence makes the journey to debunk the pupils’ belief that a ghost is haunting the grounds.


I love, love, love the cinematography in this movie, especially how everything is gray and washed out, completely visually evoking the hopelessness of the time immediately after WWI and the massive influenza outbreak that together killed millions and basically destroyed a generation of young men. The only thing I loved more was Rebecca Hall’s performance – she is perfectly curt but not rude/mean, and shows a sense of humor lurking under Florence’s businesslike facade. I wish she were a bigger star – she’s been fantastic in everything I’ve seen her in, but I think she’s fallen into the Keira Knightley trap of being typecast as a “period” actress.
Oh, and baby Bran Stark is one of the boarding school boys! via

Oh, and baby Bran Stark is one of the boarding school boys!
via

I love this movie so much because it’s a haunted house (which I’ve already mentioned I love), there’s a pitch-perfect moodiness that accentuates the setting of a horror story in isolated England, the mystery is interesting and not cliched, and there are some genuine scares along the way! If you’re in the mood for a more atmospheric than jumpy scary movie, you should definitely try The Awakening.

Anyone ever seen The Awakening and loved it as much as I did? Any thoughts on this mani? Let me know in the comments! Thanks for reading! I’ll be back in a few days with another Halloween look. ‘Til then – A x

2 thoughts on “Candy Splatter

Leave a Reply

