Beetlejuice, Beetlejuice, Beetlejuice!

Imagine how excited I was to find out that Cinespia, the company that shows films in the Hollywood Forever Cemetery, was showing Beetlejuice as their annual Halloween offering! One of my favorite movies, I knew immediately I had to coordinate nails for the event!

French Tip White, Def Defying, Funky Dunky, Black Creme

French Tip White, Def Defying, Funky Dunky, Black Creme

Obviously Beetlejuice’s black-and-white striped suit was going to be the biggest element of this mani, but I wanted to add some color, too, which is how I decided on adding purple and green for Beetlejuice’s shirt and hair and also for Lydia’s bedroom.

Oops I forgot to put Connect the Dots in the bottle pic!

Oops I forgot to put Connect The Dots in the bottle pic!

I’m so pleased with how these came out! It’s always super tedious to place the striping tape juuuuuuuuust so to get perfectly even stripes, but the effect is super cool when it’s done. Besides Beetlejuice’s famous suit, there’s a lot of black-and-white elements in the film, so I put a coat Lynderella’s Connect The Dots over the purple and green nails. I feel like the chaos of CTD mimics the crazy feel of some of the sets in the movie.

10-27-14 diagonal

If you haven’t seen Beetlejuice, go watch it right now. It’s in the best Tim Burton era – the late ’80s – where he manages to hit all the right notes between dark, goofy, and hilarious. The story centers on Barbara and Adam Maitland, a young married couple that dies and has to come to grips with the afterlife – namely, the fact that they’re stuck in their house for 120 years and don’t take kindly to the new family that’s almost immediately moved in. The Deetzes, from New York, are comprised of a stressed real estate man; his ridiculous, trying-to-hard-to-be-cool wife (the amazing Catherine O’Hara, who is sublime); and teenager Lydia. Lydia Deetz along with Wednesday Addams were my favorites growing up – I’ve always loved weird, spooky things, and these characters were the poster girls for weird and spooky.

Me too, girl. via

Me too, girl.
via


It makes me kinda sad there aren’t really characters like these two and Daria – smart, surly girls who like whatever weird stuff they like unabashedly and won’t put a smile on their face just to make others happy. I know I sound old but man, I feel like kids’ and teenagers’ stuff now is all faux happy and shiny, with characters who look impossibly perfect at all times. You won’t find anything like Lydia’s pointy bangs, that’s for sure.

Anyway, the Maitlands have a hard time being seen by the living, so they can’t scare the Deetzes out of their home.
Poor Barbara, stuck for 100 years in that terrible, frumpy-ass dress. via

Poor Barbara, stuck for 100 years in that terrible, frumpy-ass dress. via


They turn to Beetlejuice, a “bio-exorcist” who claims to be able to help. However, they quickly realize Beetlejuice is more than they bargained for and has his own agenda, but he won’t be gotten rid of so easily. The weird thing is, for a movie that’s named after him, Beetlejuice is only in the movie for about 17 minutes. They make it count, though – Beetlejuice is pervy and gross but also really funny, and it’s definitely an iconic role for Micheal Keaton.

At the Cinespia showing I learned that the writer (who was in attendance but didn’t stand up to talk, boo!) also wrote The Addams Family, so this guy is basically responsible for creating my spooky obsessions as a kid. Also at Cinespia there were a LOT of really cool costumes – there were quite a few Adams and red wedding dress Lydias, but also a Miss Argentina, a Dante’s Inferno girl, and one of the dead football players. I was kicking myself all night for not donning a costume, too!

I hope you enjoyed this post! I have two more Halloween manis to go before the month is over, and the next one I’ve been planning since last year. Thanks for reading! See you next time – A x

4 thoughts on “Beetlejuice, Beetlejuice, Beetlejuice!

  1. Pingback: It’s Fall, Y’all! | Fancy Finger Guns

Leave a Reply

