Formula X Brushed Metallic Swatches

So I was at Sephora the other day and I became entranced with their new Brushed Metallics collection. Luckily, I had removed my previous mani just before I went to the mall, so I was able to quickly swatch 10 of the colors. Fair warning – my nails weren’t in the best shape for these photos, I apologize!

Right hand, from pinkie to thumb: Spectacle (wine red), Valor (deep purple), Prophecy (cobalt), Discovery (turquoise), Destiny (sky blue with pink shimmer).

Right hand, from pinkie to thumb: Spectacle (wine red), Valor (deep purple), Prophecy (cobalt), Discovery (turquoise), Destiny (sky blue with pink shimmer).

Left hand, from pinkie to thumb: Ambitious (goldenrod), Motivated (burnt orange), Mind Game (olive green), Synapse (nude), Singularity (lavender taupe).

Left hand, from pinkie to thumb: Ambitious (goldenrod), Motivated (burnt orange), Mind Game (olive green), Synapse (nude), Singularity (lavender taupe). I apologize for my effed up thumb, my nail got ripped off :(

These are all one speedily applied coat. Just like regular metallics, if you go back over the polish when it’s still wet, you’ll drag it back up, as you can see on my right pointer with Valor. Also, in the macros below you can see that you have to be super careful when applying, otherwise the formula gets lumpy and streaky, and they certainly emphasize any imperfections on your nail. Weirdly, less than half of the colors in this collection actually show up with a metallic sheen: Ambitious, Motivated, Mind Game, and Spectacle. The others just look like normal matte polishes, and Destiny isn’t even matte. It doesn’t have that velvety texture and there’s definitely some shine – kind of waxy, but still, shine.

Synapse veers into the creepy category for me – it reminds me of that weird “mannequin hands” fad from a few years ago. Prophecy and Discovery are great colors, but Destiny and Valor fall a little flat for me. Spctacle looks like it would be a good color to snatch up when Zoya’s Posh goes away again (those mattes are limited edition, right?). I’m kiiiiind of obsessed with Motivated, Mind Game, and Ambitious – I actually bought Ambitious because I just couldn’t stop staring at it on my nail! In my opinion, these three are the best Brushed Metallics – the colors are rich and the shimmer allows gorgeous depth, and these actually do have a (matte) metallic look when applied.

I didn’t see many swatches of these online, so I hope I helped out anyone who was looking! I’ve got a manicure I did using Ambitious coming up soon, so keep an eye out for that. Thanks for reading! See you next time – A x

Leave a Reply

