Mustard Mani

Hi everyone, I hope you’re having a great weekend! Today I have another fall-hued manicure, using my new Sephora Formula X Brushed Metallic (what a mouthful, eh?) polish.

11-08-14 polishes

This is two careful coats of Ambitious. These polishes are weird – I had to re-do one nail because the first coat dried with a weird line/crack thing, and even putting another coat didn’t cover it, it just kinda…sunk right in. I don’t know why, but I love this polish. I’m weirdly drawn to this color – it’s one of those “ugly pretty” shades that normally aren’t my jam, but something about the this particular mustard (or “goldenrod,” as it’s described on the Sephora website) plus the metallic sheen and the super matte texture is really drawing me in right now.

11-08-14 curled around bottle

I did a little berry-colored accent nail on my pointer with Cherry Cherry Bang Bang, an old fav. To make everything more cohesive, I stamped with black on my middle fingers and used a dotting tool to put a little black dot on my pointer and pinkie. The stamp I used is from one of my new Mo-You plates, which I adore. Look how fun these designs are:

Hipster Collection plate 08. Also, damn it's hard to get a picture with stamping plates that doesn't reflect everything yet still shows all the designs!

Hipster Collection plate 08. Also, damn it’s hard to get a picture with stamping plates that doesn’t reflect everything yet still shows all the designs!

This didn’t wear very long because mattes always get chip wear super quick, sometimes within a matter of hours, but I really liked this. I love manicures with a little bit of everything – different textures, stamping, mixed designs…

My sister made me laugh at an inopportune moment so the dot on my pinkie is a little wonky :/

My sister made me laugh at an inopportune moment so the dot on my pinkie is a little wonky :/

Do you have a favorite matte polish? Did you get any of these Sephora ones or the new, limited-release Zoya ones? Let me know in the comments! Thanks for reading, see you next time – A x

2 thoughts on “Mustard Mani

Leave a Reply

