The Holiday Manis Commence!

I can’t believe it’s December alreadyyyyy. I only have half of my Christmas shopping done, I’ve already spent WAY too much money on presents, and I’m desperately trying to finish stuff up before the end of the year but I suspect I won’t make it. How does December always seem to sneak up on you?! I feel like once September rolls around, it’s a blur of holidays then whoops, all of a sudden it’s almost New Year’s! I’ve been thinking of all the pretty, pretty polishes I’d like to use in holiday manicures for December, but it’s a busy month…I think I might just have to do some really simple looks that I can quickly slap on, but hopefully you’ll like them (and can commiserate on having no time, arghhh)!

Today’s manicure is – you guessed it – super easy! Pretty classy too, though, if I do say so myself.

Essie's Penny Talk and China Glaze's Velvet Bow

Essie’s Penny Talk and China Glaze’s Velvet Bow

I am a little obsessed with Penny Talk – it stamps like a dream, dries quickly, and looks more rose-gold than copper to me, which I love because I am very enamored of rose-gold lately! (Spoiler alert: I might be using this a lot in my December manis!) However, the problem with Penny Talk in this particular manicure is that it came up so easily when I pulled off the hole reinforcement stickers that I use to make my half moons, even after having a layer of top coat and drying for a day, and when I tried to fix it, the end result was a bit lumpy and uneven. Also, Velvet Bow – although I love this vampy burgundy dearly – is a bit runny, so it bled under the stickers a bit, as you can see below. This looks really good in person, but of course the camera picks up every little mistake, so my photos are less than stellar. Sorry, guys, I’ll do better next time!

You can see how reflective Penny Talk is in this pic, though!

You can see how reflective Penny Talk is in this pic, though!

Anyway, flaws aside, I love me a half-moon mani – I feel like it’s the perfect elegant design for short nails (and stubby fingers) like my own, they just seem to compliment them well somehow. On longer nails, the half moon looks vampy, but on shorter nails it seems quite refined, indeed, especially with a color combo like this one. I was originally going to use gold, but then Penny Talk caught my eye…

12-02-14 curled around bottle

I think the copper/rose-gold and deep burgundy look so regal and richly wintery together, it reminds me of a posh holiday party, all velvet cushions and glinting champagne flutes. For some reason the combo also feels a bit vintage-y to me, too – I can totally see Carole Lombard rocking these nails, that chick had a great nail game.

Is anyone else feeling the end-of-the-year stress? December is such a weird combination of “Yay! Holidays!” and “Ahhhhh I have a million things to do!” At least my apartment is a pretty good de-stress zone – you can’t feel too anxious with a rose-gold tinsel tree, pretty lights, and a balsam tree-scented candle going! Thank you for reading, and I’ll see you next time – A x

3 thoughts on “The Holiday Manis Commence!

Leave a Reply

