Purple Velvet

This holiday season I wanted to try to get outside the usual red/green/gold color schemes and use less traditional colors in some of my manis. I was trying to decide which colors to use when I remembered I’d just picked up Savita, one of the recently re-released Zoya matte polishes. Perfect!

12-07-14 bottles

The Zoya mattes are so great not only because of that fabulous velvety texture, but also because of the gorgeous shimmer that looks like glitter under frosted glass. I had to try Savita with top coat and once I did, I couldn’t bear to do a full manicure matte. I mean, dat shimmer:

And what pairs best with a luxe, velvety purple? Gold, of course! Since I top coated Savita, I decided to use Love.Angel.Music.Baby, a “satin” – aka, matte – gold because I love playing with textures. I used my small dotting tool to make a few golden dots along the curve of my cuticle, and on my pointer I tried out the striping Christmas tape tree that’s been popular the past few years. I’ve never tried this design before, but it was super easy and I love the result! I was going to add a few glitter pieces as ornaments but I kinda liked how it looked bare, so my minimalist tree stayed (except for the rhinestone topper, of course!).

12-07-14 flash diagonal

I couldn’t resist adding a little accent pinkie nail of Aurora, a beautiful reddish purple in one of my favorite Zoya formulas, their flecked holo. The Zoya site calls it a “sugarplum purple,” which is perfect for a holiday manicure, don’t you think?

You can really see the shimmer of Savita best in this pic. Gorgeusssss!

You can really see the shimmer of Savita best in this pic. Gorgeousssss!

Thoughts on this mani? I actually really liked it, but that might just be because Savita is bee-you-tee-ful. I don’t know if I can ever wear it matte after this! Thanks for reading, see you next time – A x

2 thoughts on “Purple Velvet

  1. Pingback: A Zoya Deal, and My List of Favorites | Fancy Finger Guns
  2. Pingback: butter London Cotton Buds | Fancy Finger Guns

Leave a Reply

