Gettin’ Christmassy Up In Here

Hi everyone! With warm days and a busy schedule, I haven’t really been feeling like it’s Christmastime. I decided to do a super seasonal look, but change up my usual red, green, and gold color scheme slightly and use silver instead – a little change can be nice, and I actually really loved the result!

12-12-14 bottles

I did two easy coats of Glittering Garland on my pointer and pinkie fingers, and two coats of Knees Up on my middle fingers. Knees Up is such a great, wrapping paper-esque metallic red, but the formula can be finicky; it usually shows all the imperfections on my nails, so luckily I was doing nail art over those fingers! Glittering Garland is just so dreamy – a dark forest green with slightly lighter golden-green shimmer, it looks streaky on the first coat but evens out beautifully on the second. Yum.

12-12-14 diagonal

I used two chevron nail decal from Make It Stick Designs on etsy over my middle finger, then did two quick, light coats of It’s Frosty Outside. I gushed about this polish more than once last year, and my love for it hasn’t diminished at all. In the last few years I’ve become a more gold than silver person, but ughhhh something about that super bright metallic glitter and sequins of It’s Frosty Outside totally draws me in. I should probably do a full mani with this one sometime soon. For my ring finger I used No Place Like Chrome – I own every polish from this mini collection except one, and they are all such great metallics that also stamp well, and NPLC was no different. For the snowflakes, I used two of the designs on Winstonia plate W120.

The only downside of It's Frosty Outside is that it can be difficult to maneuver into a perfect line around the cuticle, as you can see where it didn't quite cover all the way over Knees Up. :/

The only downside of It’s Frosty Outside is that it can be difficult to maneuver into a perfect line around the cuticle, as you can see where it didn’t quite cover all the way over Knees Up. :/

I’m not quiiiiite in full Christmas mode yet, but this mani definitely put me on the way there – what do you think, is this Christmassy enough? Do you prefer gold or silver with red and green? Let me know in the comments! Thank you for reading! I’ll see you next time with a fun wintery look – A x

Leave a Reply

