Late Christmas Day Nails

Hi everyone! I was trying to get these nails up on Christmas, but I…forgot. Sorry, y’all! They’re pretty simple, anyway, so here we go:

Ahhh sorry my bottles look so dirty and effed up! I've had Veruschka forever and Posh I rescued from the back of a dusty shelf at the polish store :/

Ahhh sorry my bottles look so dirty and effed up! I’ve had Veruschka forever and Posh I rescued from the back of a dusty shelf at the polish store :/

I now own all of the rereleased Zoya velvet mattes except Harlow, the fuchsia, and Dovima, the black, because I’m having a real matte moment. Obviously it sucks when there’s chip wear within a day, but I love how quickly they dry and how Zoya’s velvet mattes have the gorgeous shimmer which makes them more interesting than a normal, flat matte. Well, all of them except Posh – Posh doesn’t have as much shimmer as Veruschka or Savita, and as such I’m a little underwhelmed by it (although that could be because I’m not a red person, in general).

12-27-14  curled upside down

I’m always conflicted with these mattes – adding top coat brings brings their shimmer to the sparkling forefront, but in their natural matte state they really do look velvety and I love that unique finish. I decided to do a little of each for this look, so I added a swipe of top coat as a diagonal tip on each finger, and I really like how it came out – subtle but chic!

It was hard to capture the difference between glossiness and matte on camera, but you could definitely tell in person!

It was hard to capture the difference between glossiness and matte on camera, but you could definitely tell in person!

If you celebrate Christmas, I hope you had a good one! Did you get any beauty goodies? I got a MAC lipstick I’ve been lusting after (Heroine, since I’m really into purple-ish lippies at the moment), plus a Butter London set I had to have, despite my BL issues, because it was based on the area I lived when I studied abroad in college and yes, I am that person ha! I also got the Amy Poehler book, yayyyyy! Let me know what pretty goodies you got in the comments so I can drool along with you! Thanks for reading, see you next time – A x

Leave a Reply

