Rainy Day Nails

If you’ve been reading this blog for any amount of time, you’ve probably seen me complaining about the heat and/or sun. I crave perfectly crisp, overcast days and chilly, stormy nights, but I live in Southern California, where lately we barely get a week of rain per year. This weekend, however, I got my perfectly overcast, rainy day, and I decided to do a complementary manicure.

Rain always makes me think of England, so I threw this little guy as a silly prop.

Rain always makes me think of England, so I threw this little guy as a silly prop.

I recently used another light gray, Zoya’s Dove, but Pelican Gray is a bit of a deeper gray, and it also has barely perceptible microshimmer. So…basically, they’re not total dupes, which means it’s definitely justifiable to have them both, obvs. (#polishaddictprobs) Pelican Gray’s formula is a little thin, so I used three coats here just to make 100% sure any streakiness is was covered.

That weird purple area on my ring finger? I tried to add a piece of glitter to an empty area with a dotting tool, not realizing it still had some dried polish on it :/

That weird purple area on my ring finger? I tried to add a piece of glitter to an empty area with a dotting tool, not realizing it still had some dried polish on it :/

I really love Nostalgia. I think I got this at CVS (it was a few years ago and they had a bunch of colors, I got a green, purple, and maybe a gold from this same line?) but Nostalgia has the most beautiful reflective quality, and is the only one of the glitters from this group that doesn’t apply sparsely. I adore the way it looks on top of Pelican Gray – it definitely evokes a rainy feel with the twinkly pale blue glitter atop the moody light gray. Ugh love, love, love this combo.

So metallic-y and sparkly!

So metallic-y and sparkly!

Thanks for reading, y’all! The weather forecast shows there might be some rain this weekend, too, so wish me luck! :) See you next time – A x

Leave a Reply

