China Glaze Neons 4 Evaaaa

I was needing some retail therapy last week – aka the longest, most annoying week of this year – so I popped into Sally’s after work and was rewarded with a “Buy 2, Get 1 Free” deal on China Glaze polishes, exactly what I was there to get. It was nail polish fate! I snatched up three from their new Electric Nights line, blue-leaning neon green Treble Maker and two of the glitters, Let The Beat Drop and my precioussssss Point Me To The Party (PMTTP). I was so in love with PMTTP that I decided to do a neon mani with it and all China Glaze polishes, because every polish lover knows CG makes the best neons!

4.15.15 bottles

So technically this mani isn’t all CG polishes – the white is butter London’s Cotton Buds. But it’s just a base, so whatevs. More importantly, I looooove this mani! I snapped a billion photos because I was trying to catch the neon but of course neons are notoriously difficult to capture, even on real cameras, so my skin might look a bit dead in the shade pictures but it’s in the name of capturing that sweet, sweet neon glow:

I think maybe I've actually captured the true neon peach color of Son Of A Peach on my ring finger! Usually it looks too orange.

I think maybe I’ve actually captured the true neon peach color of Son Of A Peach on my ring finger! Usually it looks too orange.

Yassssssss. I dabbed a coat of PMTTP on my pointer and thumb, then sort of filled in any empty areas by placing glitter with the brush. This is definitely a glitter polish where the base is thick and doesn’t pick up as much glitter as I’d like with one swipe, but it’s not the worst I’ve ever encountered, and surprisingly one layer of top coat make it nice and smooth. The base doesn’t seem to be tinted, either, unlike Let The Beat Drop, which is slightly pink (I did a test swatch over white on my right-hand pinkie).

4.15.15 curled under

For my splattered nails, I blew through a coffee stirrer with each color dabbed on the bottom. My best one is my middle finger – I have a hard time getting that perfect “splatter” look, as you can see on my other two fingers which look more…blobbed? than splattered. It’s usually because I have too much polish on the straw, but then if I have too little, nothing even gets on my nail…sigh. The lack of a perfect splatter isn’t going to get in the way of me loving this mani, though!

4.15.15 shade pose

The combo of butter London polish (which don’t wear well on me) + thick glitter coat meant that this chipped on the second day, but it was really easy to touch up and still look seamless. I ended up wearing this for about four days before I got tired of constantly fixing the chips. I really love when China Glaze puts out polishes that show that they’re paying attention to indie polish trends, like when they had that black matte glitter and crelly rainbow glitter from the Cirque Du Soleil collection. It’s nice to see a big mainstream company paying attention to what lacquerheads love!

Splish Splash isn't neon, but this pic shows its nice bright color.

Splish Splash isn’t neon, but this pic shows its nice bright color.

I’ve got a little bit of a PSA here today – Women On 20s is an organization that’s trying to get that old, racist Andrew Jackson off the $20 bill and replace him with a kickass historical lady by 2020! They’ve narrowed their original 16 candidates down to 4, so go over and vote for your favorite – they’re at a half million but want to reach their goal of 1 million votes. Tell everyone you know to go vote because I don’t know about you, but I think it’s about time there was a woman on our money!

Thanks for reading, everyone! See you next time – A x

4 thoughts on “China Glaze Neons 4 Evaaaa

  1. Pingback: WNAC August Nail Art Challenge: Cobalt & Peach | Fancy Finger Guns
  2. Pingback: Neon Glittahhhhh | Fancy Finger Guns

Leave a Reply

