Festival Nails

This weekend I went to a Coachella-themed dance party. I’ve never been, but I get super annoyed with the constant media coverage (well, on some of the blogs and Instagrams I read, anyway, so maybe that’s my own fault…?) leading up to it and the onslaught of “fashion roundups” during the two weekends. However, I sort of love the equal parts fun-and-douchey fashion people wear, so when I had the opportunity to throw on some Flash tats, a flower crown, and festival-themed nails, obvs I jumped at the chance.

L-R: China Glaze Neon & On & On, Sally Hansen Mellow Yellow, Lime Crime Pastelchio

L-R: China Glaze Neon & On & On, Sally Hansen Mellow Yellow, Lime Crime Pastelchio

I decided on a bright gradient with some tribal stamping, since tribal prints are very popular at festivals like Coachella, buuuuuuuut I got too lazy and just did the gradient, instead. Also, I kinda wish I had used a neon yellow instead of just a regular yellow, but I was trying for a combo where the hues were halfway between pastel and neon, and I originally thought a regular ol’ yellow helps balance the neon-ness of Neon & On & On and slightly bump up the neon of Pastelchio. Not sure if it was successful, hmm…

AHHH MY EYESSSS --> me, looking at my terrible clean-up job around my cuticles in this pic.

AHHH MY EYESSSS –> me, looking at my terrible clean-up job around my cuticles in this pic.

So this mani is a bit of a fail – I sponged the gradient over white (bL Cotton Buds) because usually when I do gradients, I paint a base of the lightest color, but with these colors I wanted them at their full brightest and didn’t want to layer N&O&O over the yellow or green and have its color be muddled. Howeverrrrrr, in combination with the crap job sponging my gradient (I’ll explain below), when I tried to clean up around my cuticles, the top layer of polish kept coming off and revealing the white underneath, which is why I usually don’t layer over white because ugh, I hate that look. So this isn’t my best work and it kind of pained me to post these pics, but trust, it looked way better in person/from far away.

See how good it looks from farther away? Stupid cameras, picking up every little flaw!

See how good it looks from farther away? The sad, peel-y Flash tats on my fingers have seen better days, though.

When you’re doing sponged gradients, remember to keep your cosmetic sponge damp – with this manicure, I had issues with tiny pieces of the sponge getting stuck to my polish, which is a) gross and b) obnoxious because it ruins your time-intensive manicure! My usual method: I run the sponge under the tap for a few seconds, wring it out until it’s just a little damp, then quickly apply my polish and get to sponging. If you think it’s becoming too dry, just run it under water and wring it out again (I’ve used the same sponge before and it was fine). However, I had to stop a few times during this manicure to do other stuff and forgot to re-wet my sponge because I was distracted, which is why the polish looks a bit lumpy and pieces got stuck in certain areas, like on my ring finger. :/

Sponges are tricky bastards who can be your best friend or worst enemy for nail art.

Sponges are tricky bastards who can be your best friend or worst enemy for nail art.

I still do like the gradient, even if my execution wasn’t the best. This would’ve ended up looking much nicer if I had done a white stamp over this like I’d originally planned, but hey, they can’t all be winners, right? I promise I’ll have a nicer-looking mani in my next post. :) Thanks for reading, see you next time – A x

P.S. I bought this Lime Crime polish about three years ago; their recent scandal (not telling customers their card information had been compromised during their “Black Wednesday” sale until five months later, in an Instagram post with “cute” emojis, nonetheless) has ensured I won’t buy anything from them in the future. I’d always heard stories going around about LC’s various shady activities, but this really proves that they’re a terrible company and I won’t support them, although I do admit that I love their products that I already do have and so they might pop up from time to time like this.

2 thoughts on “Festival Nails

Leave a Reply

